Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: My boating has come to an end...

Re: My boating has come to an end...

that rock bar has ben there for as long as ive fished the mooloolah river. any one else travelling through there it best to keep well to the south side of the river.

Yeh I hit that coffee rock about 12 years ago. From a full planing hull to a dead stop with 3 small blokes on board it was bloody violent. I had been up that strach many times before hitting that on low tide. I did actually see it out of the water once about a year later on a king low tide.

Maybe they need to drop buoys along the shallow area to warn boaties it is very very dangerous.

Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

I know of 2 rocks in nundah creek that are only visible on the lowest of tides. Not many people up there now due to green zone but next time I am up there will take a mark on the GPS and post it up. Will also do some images in google maps. Perhpaps others can share known trouble spots around too.

it sucks you'll be off the water for a while C...im just glad you and your mate were'nt seriously injured!!!...chin up mate im pretty sure you'll get out on the water with the help of some Ausfishers...until you get another boat

Mrs Benno1
    Sunny

That's a bummer mate. All the best for your fishing future and may you come through this financial crisis, relatively unscathed.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Did you report it to MSQ?
    It might be a good idea to, because your insurance agency might wish this, and secondly, MSQ will be aware and may take some steps to sign the area or put a marker of some sort? After all, they are supposed to be making boating safer and that sounds like a very legitimate reason/location for such markings... At least get them marked on a chart!

Quote Originally Posted by BaitThrower View Post
    Did you report it to MSQ?
    It might be a good idea to, because your insurance agency might wish this, and secondly, MSQ will be aware and may take some steps to sign the area or put a marker of some sort? After all, they are supposed to be making boating safer and that sounds like a very legitimate reason/location for such markings... At least get them marked on a chart!
    Probably find a lot of those areas are uncharted, hence MSQ will probably not care unless enough people kick up a stink.

I will have a look on my charts tonight and see if its there.

Sorry for your bad luck mate. I am sure that there will be a spot on one of the local lads boats for you.

Nick

Thank you everyone. I wasn't sure if I'd get laughed out the door when I posted this, but in hindsight I know that there was nothing I could have done to prevent it without first knowing it was there.

I'll look into reporting it to MSQ, last night I was still in a bit of shock and didn't even think about it.

As my friend and I were idling our way back to deeper water three guys in a tinny came toward us, we warned them about the rocks but they took off at full speed anyway. I hope they didn't come to grief too, we were around the bend by the time they would have reached the poor were we hit. Perhaps they knew the area well enough.

Lovey80 - It sounds like they should have a marker there. If you ran into it a dozen years ago it's likely that others have run aground over the years too.

Matt.

I wish we had known in advance that you had hit it, then we could have all gone:

"Oh didn't you know that was there? Everybody knows about that rock!"

We would never do that to you Matt, it probably wouldn't be funny anyway.

Seriously I would be demaning that some sort of marker be placed there. You and your mate were actually injured don't forget!

How you going with the insurance? (Is it too late to take the boat back to the guy you bought it off and say you don't like it?)

I feel sorry for you, but I think the truth is that these rock bars are alot more common than many realise. It pays to use some caution in areas you are not familiar with. Stick to channels where marked and keep speed down and one eye on your sounder. It is not reasonable to expect MSQ to put marker buoys on every rock bar or other navigation hazard throughout the state - there are heaps of rock bars in Pumicestone Passage, even Brisbane River has a few. There are lots in the Great Sandy Straits and more the further North you go. Stories of people hitting various obstacles are not as uncommon as you might think.

Hey Matt,
    If there's any consolation to your predicament, it's the fact that you've found another Jack spot!!!

Sorry, couldn't help myself. Chin up mate.

Just went over to queensland boating world for a quote to find them locked shut, allied pickford trucks/containers waiting to be loaded and angry customers wanting to know when their boats will be released (there for servicing/repairs)... ouch.

Geez mate not good news at all But you are both alive and hey the boat can most likely be repaired if you find a tradie worth his wage. Seen more damage then that done to other glass boats and they have all bee repaired and put back to sea now worries... But what ever happens just don't forget to hang in there and stick with us all here on Ausfish

Very Lucky you guys were'nt injured more than you are.

Hope it turns out goody for you.

Avast ye matey!