Thread: Dual cab opinions/feedback needed.

Dual cab opinions/feedback needed.

I am soon to be in the market for a 2nd hand dual cab. Looking at late 90's to around 2005 models. We had a triton in the 90's and I drive a current model narvara for work, but was out of the loop for the time period that I am now looking at. Of the main models - Navara, Hilux, Bravo, Courier, Triton, Rodeo I am keen to hear of peoples opinion of models that were released in that time period.

Is there any duds or models that have specific problems?

Are any better or worst than the others?

Is there anything that I should be watchful about with any of the above models?

Who has one? What sort of milelage does it have on it and has there been any issues?

I haven't ruled out petrol or diesel, so any comment on any of these motors for the above models would also be greatly appreciated.

Are any not suited to LPG conversions?

Our usage would be 85% road (dirt/tar), 10% towing a 4m boat and 5% 4wd (farm, beach). Two adults (I am 6'2.5") and two small children.

Appreciate any replies.

Re: Dual cab opinions/feedback needed.

Steve, I'm sure you will get bucket loads of advice.
    I have a 2001 hilux dual cab petrol 2.7l
    120k km. great to drive around town. not too thirsty. ok on beach. pulls small boat easily but cant take a bigger one. still worth 20k odd. Cant kill it with a ute load of sticks.
    Best of all the worlds you describe and they still look HEAPS better than the current model.
    Best bolt ons- TJM Bull bar
    - duratray al tray.
    - ARB Snorkel.
    Good luck in the search.
    Brendan

PS same height, double the kids

Hey Guys,

I've got a 2003 Navara STR Petrol, and did the LPG conversion on it.

It's rated to tow 3 tonne, however I feel it's a bit gutless towing my 2 tonne Seafarer.

The Navara's are renowned for chewing out the front tyres, it's some sort of design fault with some of them. You also need to be light on the clutch, as I know some have a history of doing them under lots of towing.

Mine's done 145k, and i've not had a problem, except the occasional fault light showing up on the dash.

I did the petrol/diesel costings before I bought it, and just couldn't justify the extra $ a diesel pulls. The only reason i'd buy the diesel would be for the torque, not for the fuel consumption.

I'd recommend one for your needs.

Quote Originally Posted by boatboy50 View Post
    Hey Guys,

I've got a 2003 Navara STR Petrol, and did the LPG conversion on it.

It's rated to tow 3 tonne, however I feel it's a bit gutless towing my 2 tonne Seafarer.

The Navara's are renowned for chewing out the front tyres, it's some sort of design fault with some of them. You also need to be light on the clutch, as I know some have a history of doing them under lots of towing.

Mine's done 145k, and i've not had a problem, except the occasional fault light showing up on the dash.

I did the petrol/diesel costings before I bought it, and just couldn't justify the extra $ a diesel pulls. The only reason i'd buy the diesel would be for the torque, not for the fuel consumption.

I'd recommend one for your needs.

Still Darren , That boat would make any ute look good.
    Brendan
    It may be closer to 2500kg on the trailer with fuel and gear anyway.

What's your budget?

White Pointer

Quote Originally Posted by White Pointer View Post

What's your budget?

White Pointer
    Probably $15k- $20k, hence the age range.

I have the '01 TFR9 Rodeo, dual cab 4x4 tray back, 2.8td.

Good honest truck, getting 10L/100km, better when i treat her better. Have done bathurst and melbourne by myself, no worries at all. avg circa 800km a week in it.

Only thing to let go was the air con compressor... they have a habit of chewing the "snout" out where the pulley mates to the nosecone.
    This was at 196000, It has just ticked over 240000.

Enough power for the job, easy to bleed more out of it with exhaust, boost controller and dyno tune.

All in all very very reliable. Does the job well and quite comfortable. Ooh so versatile.

Hope this was a bit of a help

I cant help myself here.I have a 2000 dual cab hilux for sale,here is the link on this site..
    I get around 900klms on the 100l FUEL TANK.
    and tow an 19ft cruise craft Reef ranger around with it.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/vbc...p?do=ad&id=409

Cheers Craig
    If you always do what you've always done
    You'll always get what you've always got

Come on guys, surely there has to be someone out there with a Bravo, Triton, Navara or courier with some comments - good or bad!

Thanks to all that have replied so far.

Quote Originally Posted by catfishkid View Post
    I cant help myself here.I have a 2000 dual cab hilux for sale,here is the link on this site..
    I get around 900klms on the 100l FUEL TANK.
    and tow an 19ft cruise craft Reef ranger around with it.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/vbc...p?do=ad&id=409

Cheers Craig
    Hey craig,
    How close does the boat go to the towing limit of that lux?
    Brendan

for that price range get a hilux, you will get around 2000 - 2002 model for that coin, actually doesn't matter what your price range, just get a hilux
    .......Ash

Steve,

Most folks here know my Navara.

2002 3.0ltr TD dual cab. 110kw and a kazillion NM's of torque

3 tonne tow ( but not in 5th gear )

manual hubs...... never have electric....just my opinion.

has 220k on it.

Been rolled
    Been drowned
    head on with large tree
    tows tinnie at 800kgs and platey at 2.2ton.
    Does Fraser in a canter with either boat behind

I'm on 24hr standby as a Toyota Recovery Vehicle

These are the old shape that has been brought back in by Nissan after the STX situation.

There ya go..... another vote for the navara.

Another vote for the D22 Navara. I had a 2006 STR dual cab from new and it was a great little truck, good on fuel also. We had to sell it as the missus didn't like it as a family car when the twins arrived.
    I now have a D22 single cab with same 3ltr turbo diesel, just as good but a little rougher in the ride.
    I just brought a Seafarer Vagabond and towed it back from Lake Macquaire to Gladstone no worries at all. Just don't use 5th, the hills slow you down a bit - to be expected towing 2300-2500kgs. Fuel usage towing was pretty good, worst was 33ltr for 160kays but that included going through Coffs Harbour at 4pm on Friday afternoon. I reckon I got every red light and there's not much flat ground around Coffs.
    Keep looking there should be some in your price range

Ally Jack

Apollo, I have a 2001 Mazda Bravo Diesel and am more than happy with it. There are 5 of us and still have plenty of room I have been to Frazer island and towed a hilux out of the sand also I have been to Landcruiser Mountain park. The Mazda will do everything a Hilux will do if not better. I recommend these 4WD'S