Seaway firing up !!

Thread: Seaway firing up !!

Seaway firing up !!

Headed out the seaway this morning and found bait and fish at the ends of both walls. Birds were working on the end of the south wall and round the corner on the pumping jetty side. There is a fair swell running but I could see a few of the landbased spin brigade hooking up.
    Fish were mainly small stipey tuna, plenty of fun, but did pick up a couple of small tailor off the end of the north wall. Saw a guy gaff what appeared to be a decent mackeral in the middle of the seaway, and the sounder was alive with fish over the pipeline but couldnt get a taker on plastics( sacrificed a couple of jigheads to the dreaded pipe), might go back with some livies for top of the tide tomorrow before the wind gets up.
    Sorry no photos !!!

Re: Seaway firing up !!

i was on the bank there yesterday and there was birds working everywhere but the water was really dirty was it like that today

I'll be heading there soon with some livies. Thanks for the report mate.

Tom

Water was ok today with good visibility in the seaway itself(could see the fish following your lure up easy) and out front of the south wall, when the run out kicked in(so did the wind) there was a visible dirty water line wrapping around the end of the north wall and spearing up along south straddie. I got my fish on maniacs and medium size raiders, got one on an atomic plastic.

Thanks for the report - great to hear the Seaway is heating up! I love fishing around there.... so thanks for sharing.

There is a link under "hints and tips" menu on Ausfish - I think its under Nuggets salt water section - there is a couple of AWESOME underwater videos showing the marine life under and around that pipeline.

Truely amazing! If you havnt seen it - I rate it highly!

I think they are the smartest fishies in the sea though - as it doesnt fish as well as one would think with that concentrated density of quality fish being present....

Maybe I am just a crap fisherman - but I still have fun trying!

Thanks for the report mate, glad to hear the seaway is firing up a bit.
    Hopefully i can head up there soon and have a flick.
    Could someone please tell me what livies would be good down there?
    Sam

some awesome footage on the news tonight of big bait schools between the seaway and sand pumping jetty being followed by heaps of sharks. Must be lots of bait down that way.

Report on telly tonight re the baitfish and sharks chasing them at theeh pumping jetty and seaway. They say up to 30 sharks including tigers. Sounds nteresting .....

Ausfish Platinum Member nuggstar's Avatar

sounds like heaven to me
    figjam :wink:

Quote Originally Posted by gregw View Post
    Report on telly tonight re the baitfish and sharks chasing them at theeh pumping jetty and seaway. They say up to 30 sharks including tigers. Sounds nteresting .....
    Damn mate, I gotta get up there!!!

Tom

Quote Originally Posted by brisboys View Post
    Thanks for the report mate, glad to hear the seaway is firing up a bit.
    Hopefully i can head up there soon and have a flick.
    Could someone please tell me what livies would be good down there?
    Sam

The livies that would work well would be mullet, herring, and yakka's I'd say.
    I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

The landbased guys on the end of the south wall said there were longtails there as well as stripeys and macks.

great sharks i was diving in that murk on monday hahaha thanks for the reports maybe ill put another dive of for a while

G'day Hooknose and Jeremy,

I was looking at the footage on TV last night, bloody awesome, would love to geta feed of tuna and tailor and mac if I can get to them.

I'll have a new accelorator cable in my car by tonight. I hope the buggers will be around tomorrow (Thursday 26th). I dont have a boat but will go to the south rock wall if there's space or on the sand pumping jetty. Unless there's an extra space onboard.

What time of day is best, before sunrise or just after? Tailor is about dawn and after dusk, not sure about the others.

chance I might head down Friday arvo. Send me a pm if you are interested in a seat onboard Peter.