Feed of Prawns !!!

Thread: Feed of Prawns !!!

Smile Feed of Prawns !!!

My mates went up around the powerlines today to chase a feed of prawns . Thanks to guru Paul Burts report on last nights Goldy news that they were "on" the boys had to share it with about 50 boats , and to top it off the prawns did a houdini and disappeared .

Was definately a case of "you should have been there yesterday" , picked up about 7 KGs but had to work for them , they are a day to day prospect at the moment, Cheers !!! !!!

Re: Feed of Prawns !!!

Excellent feed of prawns there, congratulate em' for me

Tom

Looks like a nice dinner

I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

Ausfish Gold Member

They are still around, just a bit away from the powerlines. And you know, those little suckers might just be back at the powerlines tomorrow. Time will tell.Next few days should be fun.

Just an update, prawns were around on wednesday morning, the boys got their limit, but bugger all again yesterday, my mate worked from jacobs well to the other side of the powerlines for 12 prawns. Will be up there again on Monday (rdo) to have another throw around. Cheers !!!

Ausfish Gold Member

Got 10 litres today, it took me 6 hours to bag out. I was fortunate enough to have the Water police pull me over twice. Once when I had about 8 litres, and again as I passed them on my way to the ramp to go home. I officially was right on the limit according to the Police man.
    (Although I reckon there was room in his container for 10 more prawns, Why did I give those last few prawns in my net to Kevin?,he,he).
    And strange as it seems, I haven't been able to catch them in the same spot in numbers 2 days in succession. Anyone else have that problem so far? Anyway, they are getting bigger too, One measured 22 centimetres.
    Should be great by Easter. Cheers.

great feed there

Sam

Good onya I'm a Rawry !!, hard yakka when you gotta put in 6 hours(in the wind)but definately worth it(they taste SSSOOOO good), Fisho';s were up there on Thursday according to the boys, staked out the Cabbage Tree Point ramp, then headed out harrassing all boats. What area were you working(pm if you like), congrats good feed !!!

Definitley no prawns in the creek going to the prawn farm. I wonder if the moon phase might have a bearing on prawn numbers? Yep, all my good crab pots disappeared too, bastards left me the old rectangular ones.

Quote Originally Posted by bondy99 View Post
    Definitley no prawns in the creek going to the prawn farm. I wonder if the moon phase might have a bearing on prawn numbers? Yep, all my good crab pots disappeared too, bastards left me the old rectangular ones.

We had some pots lifted from comslie area (again) in Brissy river last week too - what are we going to do about these scum bags....

Awesome catch of prawns fellas - well done! I do hope they hang around 'til Easter and I can get amongst them!!!

LADS,
    I left some pots up near where I have been catching prawns, no floats . dont give a f44k{buggger the pot thieves), cleaned up on sandies ,and got a couple of muddies to boot,the gps is the go, when the wind backs off I will be keen to have another go at the prawns !!!!!

Ausfish Gold Member

Bondy and I caught only 8 prawns there the day prior. One hint- a lot of snags there.

Ausfish Gold Member

Heres a photo of about a kilo cast. Yummmmmo!

Top feed there, nice.

Wal

Done well ,good value when you can get a kilo in a throw, cheers !!!