Honda or Suzuki 4 Stroke - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Honda or Suzuki 4 Stroke

Re: Honda or Suzuki 4 Stroke

Hey Brute,

It"s not easy chosing the perfect rig, but your at the right place to get sprayed with all the options available.

Personally, my 150 Honda with the V-TEC fuel system. pushes my 5.5mt glass boat along beautifully.............economical and smooth as silk.

I have tested the small B/C you like, and wonder how many other hulls you have tried.

It would be a great time to be in the market for a new boat..........test drive in all conditions is the only way to go

Good luck..............Jimmy

I've got a 150 Suzuki on my boat and its been great. I've only got 270 hours on it but its been great so far. You can spin a bigger prop with the Suzuki which is handy if you troll allot. They are very quiet.

Have seen and been in 560's with as low as 115 Suzuki and Yamaha 4 strokes and perform well with correct proping. I reckon the 135 Honda is an ideal choice with ample torque (much more than the Suz 140) and a lighter price tag than the Suzi 150. Have a good look at the specs vs price (check the cc, bore, stroke, WOT of the 140 compared to the Suz 115 and Honda 135). Anything over 115 will be great on the 560.

Great boat and with a 135 would be sweet as!

I think if you look at the specs this boat is only rated to 140hp so a 150 is not an option . My cousin has just bought the 560c with a 115 etec and he loves it normally only fishes 2 up . Also barcrusher fit the suzukis at the factory where they build these boats as an option but alot of people still pick other motors and get them dealer fitted

Hey rustymarlin I thought this boat was only rated to a 140hp to but I just checked in the barcrusher brochure and it says rated to carry 115-150hp outboard. maybe I should check that it is correct.

Ausfish Platinum Member STUIE63's Avatar

check the weight as well not just the hp
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

have a think about your usage too mate. the 150's will be priced quite a step up from the 135/140 (definitely for the suzuki anyway), if you don't need the mumbo then you can make a good saving on your initial purchase. if it's outright performance you're after then go the 150. that being said, a 5.6m tinny will be no slouch with a 135/140 on it's bum. both motors are top shelf items so choose one sold by the dealer you like best i reckon.

i believe put on the biggest engine possible, as you always need the power some where along the line. You don't have to use it all the time with the throttle all the way down, and the power is there if need be. I think you will find haveing the bigger engine will not chew as much fuel as what people think as it will be working no way near as hard as the smaller engine under load. If you can afford it go the bigger donk IMO. And with the motor brand choice the 150 honda preformed better the the 150 Zuke on the same boat with same fit out, and the Honda won hands down in. And that is just a fact.

Matty

You are correct rustymarlin I cant put a 150 Honda on it.
    They said the ideal match for the 560C are 140 Suzuki, 135 Honda, 150 E-Tec and 150 Yammy

I have 140 Suzy on 5.8m (6.1 LOA) plate, which weighs spot on 1000 kg's with motor and 50l fuel, (no gear). (weighbridged).

Just over 70 kmh at 6200 , 40 kmh at 4000, and 2.4 to 2.5 km per litre with 2 and gear onboard.

Standard 21 ' prop.

No shortage of power or get up and go.

Suzygs1000
    Ingham

Why aren't you comparing apples with apples ... in other words 150 v's 150 .... I would go the Suzuki if it were between 150's but either way would be great for your boat. The 150 Honda would push the 560 BC along alot quicker than the 140. I used to own a 140 and it was great.

And with the motor brand choice the 150 honda preformed better the the 150 Zuke on the same boat with same fit out, and the Honda won hands down in. And that is just a fact.
    Where did you read this?

Quote Originally Posted by Luke G View Post
    Where did you read this?
    He didn't read it, he tested the boats before handing them over to there owners.

I wasnt privy to the suzi test but I did fit the Honda

Retired Honda Master Tech

Quote Originally Posted by brute898 View Post
    Hi, I am starting to work out my pkans for a new boat, I am 95% sure I want to Barcrusher 560C and now need to work out what outboard I want for it.

The two I am thinking of is the Suzuki 140hp 4 stroke or the Honda 150hp 4 stroke. First of all does anyone know what the pricing difference between the two would be.
    Second does anyone know of any pros or cons on each outboard and how many k's per litre you get out of each one.

What would you choose?
    G'day.

Both are excellent engines but there are some compromises. The 560C will work OK with a 115Hp on a cruise, but you are right to look for more hole shot grunt for safety. Both are large capacity 4-cylinder engines and have the advanced features for fuel economy so there is little between them.

I recall that the Suzuki is a bit lighter than Honda and Yamaha. That's a help trailering and keeping the boat level in the water, but there's not much in it.

Barcrusher Boats in Melbourne are a Suzuki dealer. If you're packaging a boat through a dealer who doesn't carry Suzuki Barcrusher will do the deal and fit the engine and rigging kit ex-factory.

The advantage is that you can ask the factory to set up the NMEA2000 interface cabling on the engine and complete the hydraulic steering linkages (you must have hydraulic steering!).

The only disadvantage is that you are not one-stop shopping and may have to find you own Suzuki service agent - which may not be a disadvantage at all.

White Pointer

Quote Originally Posted by Spaniard_King View Post

Gee thats good to know allsuzukis come from the factory fitted.. suppose they just get anyone to fit a Honda these days eh
    What I should have said was that Barcrusher are a Zuk agent and fit the motors at the factory. The boat requires the longer leg and because they fit so many the installation is spot on.

At least mine was
    "light gear big fish big fun"