Fishing the out-going tide at Raby Bay.

Thread: Fishing the out-going tide at Raby Bay.

Fishing the out-going tide at Raby Bay.

Hey guys how are we all?

On Thursday night I'll be ducking out with a mate to do a bit of fishing at Raby Bay. Well that was until I saw that it was dead low tide at 9:10pm, the exact time we'll be out.

We are planning on going to the main entrance to the canal estate and maybe pump a few yabi's while we're there.

Anyone had a great deal of luck on the run in tide? Either way it's still nice sitting there on that rock wall with a few cold ones but some fish would be a bonus!

Cheers and more beers,

Mitcho.

P.S I've attached a picture of where we will be going.

Re: Fishing the out-going tide at Raby Bay.

Hope this helps it, this was a post I made asking pretty much the same things and I got some really good answers from quite a few people.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=147027

Way ahead of ya mate, I was the last one to post a comment on that thread yesterday. Hence why I'm curious out the out-going tide. I reckon I'd have a bit of luck but I'd assume the water would pour through there so I'm going to need a brick of a sinker. Either way just sitting there on my chair over the water at 9pm with a cold beer sounds good to me .

Where abouts are you located ATLOO1 if you don't mind me asking?

Cheers mate,

Mitch.
    Last edited by Mitcho89; 17-03-2009 at 10:08 PM. Reason: Too many beers and I made a stuff up.

might see you down there mate i live close by and ill be doing some mud crabing in the area, ive caught cod, bream, squire, mosses perch and plenty of wobbies there all while fishing for jack, its a nice comfortable spot the tide does race a bit

Cheers for the heads up mate. I had no idea there was such a good variety of fish there. I'll be there at about 7:30 give or take. I'll more then likely be there again on sat morning, as far as I know it's a 5:30am high tide at 2.1m I think. That might be my best bet.

Take it easy mate,

Mitch.

I live at newmarket, near the city bud. I usually go down the spit and fish for whiting as that is about all I catch at the moment. I started looking at Raby Bay because it was alot quicker to get too and protected if need be.

If your going to throw a line in let me know via PM I'd love to try and learn a few things...

hey mate,ive been on me boat there with soft plastics and i had heaps of squid chasing them. My electric motor chopped up squid while i was there and all these pike were attacking it on the surface therefore i ended up with millions of pike. great fun.also caugth a few flathead theregoodluck mate and all the best
    BreamBuster33

Quote Originally Posted by ATL001 View Post
    I live at newmarket, near the city bud. I usually go down the spit and fish for whiting as that is about all I catch at the moment. I started looking at Raby Bay because it was alot quicker to get too and protected if need be.

If your going to throw a line in let me know via PM I'd love to try and learn a few things...

Yeah not a problem at all mate. I go fishing a fair bit, never have any luck though haha.

Squid ya say Breambuster? That's unreal! I can't imagine any better bait then that! What time and tide was this?

Cheers boys,

Mitch.

It was the run out tide.
    im assuming weedbeds cover most of the bottom - therefore that is why there was so many squid.
    BreamBuster33

Makes sense to me mate. Thanks a lot for the information, I really appreciate it. I'm not too sure what bait to use but I might go with chunks of pillie's as I've read in previous posts and maybe my gulp lures and a few prawns.

I'll let ya know how I go. I'll be ducking down at 4ish tomorrow avo to fish the high tide, and then later on that night with my mate so wish me luck!

Cheers mate,

Mitch.

Guys it is a good spot that area. I used to fish it heaps years ago before it was fully developed. You would be surprised what was trapped in the ponds before they were opened. I usually found that an hour or so either side of the tide was the best. Top or bottom. The trick was to get a good berley trail going and keep them coming to you. Don't be surprised if you get stomped by some unstoppables. They are there. If you can get some liveys great but any of the flesh baits will do well. The good thing about the pillies is that they self berley. The downside though is that the pickers will pinch your bait before you know it. Have fun guys. Take a pot or two too, there are usually some huuuge muddies around there at this time of the year.

Shane

Quote Originally Posted by Mitcho89 View Post
    Makes sense to me mate. Thanks a lot for the information, I really appreciate it. I'm not too sure what bait to use but I might go with chunks of pillie's as I've read in previous posts and maybe my gulp lures and a few prawns.

I'll let ya know how I go. I'll be ducking down at 4ish tomorrow avo to fish the high tide, and then later on that night with my mate so wish me luck!

Cheers mate,

Mitch.
    Hey Bud,

I went down and fished the rock wall today on the outgoing tide. I had a bunch of trouble keeping the pilchards on the hook as reel creeper said in the post above. I too am thinking about going again tomorrow at 4ish so I might see you there.

I got 5 small/medium bream but I got most of them on kangeroo. I know it sounds weird but i couldn't keep the pilchards on and I took some food with me to snack on. I eat alot of kangeroo while I am training as it is the leanest red meat you can get. I gave it a shot an it worked...go figure...

Maybe think about getting some mullet or squid as well just to keep your sanity.

There are also some really big rats down in those rocks. If you could catch on of those suckers they might go ok

livies will stop the little fellows or try using dead mullet or so on that should be a bit harder for them to pick of, take the cast net and get some live prawns

Hey mate,

That spot used to fire a couple of years ago. However I find it quite tough going now. Used to have heaps of fun surface fishing for GT's, Queenies etc.. but as with any hard fish spot they wise up very quickly.

There are a heap of sharks that hang around the mouth. Was down there a month ago and there would of been a least 4-5 finning the surface chasing bait.

Quote Originally Posted by Bennywise View Post
    Hey mate,

That spot used to fire a couple of years ago. However I find it quite tough going now. Used to have heaps of fun surface fishing for GT's, Queenies etc.. but as with any hard fish spot they wise up very quickly.

There are a heap of sharks that hang around the mouth. Was down there a month ago and there would of been a least 4-5 finning the surface chasing bait.

LOL....

That is about the 5th post I have read with "used to" and "back when". Maybe you guys are right everyone is just fishing a memory down there.

I think breambuster is the only one with any success down there of late and he seems to be fishing nowhere near the mouth, for some of his better fish.