I'm sick of hauling my anchor up from the depths. which winch to go for? - Page 2

Thread: I'm sick of hauling my anchor up from the depths. which winch to go for?

Re: I'm sick of hauling my anchor up from the depths. which winch to go for?

Check out the Stress Free but they are not cheap. Send them an email and they will send all specs via email. We are seriously considering it -- well hubby is anyway. When it comes to pulling up the anchor he is a pussy and instead of the usual moans and groans I do it myself. New boat and he has pulled anchor in NIL.

Alternately the anchor ball works fine and the ring is far better than the clip.

Mrs Ronnie H

gday mate i spoke to cruise craft abot fitting a stress free winch to my outsider 575 which they highly recomended,onlythe mini would fit and was going to cost about 3 and a half thousand dollars as they would have to
    strengthen the anchor well, and the winches aren,t cheap also would only hold about 80m i think the freefall model was another 500 $

cheers glenn

I got a south pacific 700s freefall on my 5.5 halfcab, Pulls a sarca size 2 up perfectly but slow. Did it in 60 meters of water and it was slow, But hey - beats me pulling it up by hand. Normally takes 5 minutes or so in deep water. i have 120 meters of nylon rope 12mm. Got anchor yanka of , but have never used it. I think the drive off with the bouy and use the winch is a good combination in deep water. The winch will run faster without the weight.

And guess what, i paid $400 for it. normall $500 and they are easy to install

Quote Originally Posted by TimiBoy View Post
    Another perspective...

I prefer the ring - as you pull the rope through, your deckie will tell you when the chain runs through the ring, as his hand is on the rope and he will feel it.

If you have a good sized reef pick full of lead, you will be grateful it is at the surface, rather than dangling on 6 metres of chain. Mine barely floats with 2 * 200 mm balls, so it's rather weighty...

That's a good idea!! 300mm is too big to fit storage, the 250 is too small to float all the apparatus ......solution just add another one, will try it.
    Cheers fnq

I love watching my mates haul anchor whilst I call em a bunch of wimps. Free entertainment I reckon especially in 60m with 8m of chain. I felt sorry for them after a while so I bought the ezylift and buoy. Not as much fun as before but my mates are happier, and not quite as fit!