Platypus Platinum & Platypus Super-100

Thread: Platypus Platinum & Platypus Super-100

Platypus Platinum & Platypus Super-100

Hi!

Just after some feedback on Platypus Platinum and Platypus Super-100 lines, particularly in the 4lb class.

Re: Platypus Platinum & Platypus Super-100

Heya WyldFisher

I sometimes use 2kg platinum and I think my hair is thicker It was bought to specifically target stud whiting but has also caught a swag of bream to 40cm and some solid white trevors as well. I run platinum on most of my gear but more from 6kg up and have nothing but praise for it, it is a great line.

Ausfish Gold Member

Would second Straddie on that mate. Have 4lb and 6lb Platinum for breaming in the local creek.

Regards, Rob.

I have platinum in 20 and 30 Lb and have spooled up reels for mates with 10Lb.

I picked up some super100 in 8lb for a mate recently and that stuff is fine... like .2mm that is thin as normal 4lb

I like the platinum a lot 10lb is as thin as normal 6lb... .25mm

if you want some 4lb...... I think I know where there is some on clearance..send me a pm.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

I used to run 4lb super 100 on my spin sticks for bream. It obviously super thin but i dont like how it wears..the line is similar to maxima where it chalks up. Not sure if this is a salt issue or a UV issue??? but the line becomes brittle...and at 4lb u cant afford to lose breaking stain...

I replaced the stuff with 4lb Sunline Basic FC and its tons better. Wears really well and is comparitively cheap...300m for 20odd bux
    For fishing reports, fishing info, new techniques and fishing news read;
    Savvy Fishing Blog

Have used platpus platinum for many years on just about all my outfits, from 2 kg to 30 pound and it's very good. Casts well off an alvey, baitcaster and spin stick.

Haven't used super 100 so can't comment on that.

mick
    Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

i use platnium 40 pound on my tld's and offshore outfits

You can buy it for $90 a kg. a kg is alot of line in any strength.

Quote Originally Posted by kevvie View Post
    I used to run 4lb super 100 on my spin sticks for bream. It obviously super thin but i dont like how it wears..the line is similar to maxima where it chalks up. Not sure if this is a salt issue or a UV issue??? but the line becomes brittle...and at 4lb u cant afford to lose breaking stain...

I replaced the stuff with 4lb Sunline Basic FC and its tons better. Wears really well and is comparitively cheap...300m for 20odd bux
    Me too. was good, manageable line when new but after a few months it became chalky and brittle. This was in 10lb on a light surf rig but same story. Have found the "Hawk Tournament Tested- Bayer Perlon" to be really good in this line class. quite thin, excellent abrasion resistance, knots really well and seemed to last a long time...so much so the 300m on my 5" Alvey is all but gone from re rigging rather than from bust offs and removing UV damaged line. Good Stuff. It might be worth finding some in the lighter class to try out. good mono is still very cheap.

Thank you for the replies boys. I really appreciate all the feedback!

I was leaning more towards Platypus Super 100, but after reading Kevvie and Roo's replies, I'm a bit scared (scared of loosing that Trout of a life time) of using that line.

Oldboot: Check PM.

I have been using super 100, 25lb on the spanish macks over the last few years ,and have encountered problems with it breaking under load .Not when the line is new but as it ages .Happened again the last weekend on a good fish grrrr,so now using Shogun and Platium.

Cheers Wllo

The bottom line is there is no free lunch.

if you are going to manipulate plastic chemistry you are goimg to have give and take...why else would them make several different grades of line.

If you want maximum UV resistance and long life will be looking at a thick green line..... just like all the cheaper products.

As you get thinner and clearer there has to be a trade off in many areas i cluding abrasion resistance and longevity.

for my money the platinum is the best trade off.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

Ausfish Gold Member

G'day all!

As a Chemist, i would agree with Oldboot.

Rob. Ballina.