Thread: Coochie snapper

Coochie snapper

Had a morning fish off Coochie today.

Was on the water at 6am and drifted around using plastics.

Not much happening, just the odd undersize squire. then at about 8am my reel screamed at a 100 miles an hour (zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz). Not much I could do but hang on and hope.

Before long I was looking down at the reel watching my braid disappear at an alarming rate and the fish was still steaming. I decided to turn the motor on and chase the fish. Just metres before the braid met my mono backing, I clicked the motor into forward gear and chased the fish.

After getting some line back onto the reel, off went the motor and I settled into a fight with a nice fish.

A few minutes later I had a personal best (plastics) snapper in the boat. It went 73cm and just under 4kg.

Only one more keeper for the day (40cm) and lots of small squire.

Back at the ramp by 10.30am.

Tackle: Zoom 4 inch baby bass. Jighead: 2/0 - 1/8th TT and 12lb mono leader.

Tight lines

Shane

Re: Coochie snapper

Onya Shane - that's a nice fish and yep they sure go hard on the light gear!

Well done!

Grant

4 kilos of quality Coochie snap...well done Shane...you gotta be happy with that...cheers for the report and piccie

And they say there are no good fish in the Bay...

Nice one!

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

G'day Shane,
    Nice catch there mate! Well done!

Lunatic
    "Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore." -- André Gide

Well done great fish
    wat did the damage?

Hey mate, was that you out there doing the same drift line as me (white centre console) saw you get that 1. Nice work.

Quote Originally Posted by BenDover View Post
    Hey mate, was that you out there doing the same drift line as me (white centre console) saw you get that 1. Nice work.
    Yes that would have been me - if your boat had 3 blokes in it . Did you end up getting a few fish?

Quote Originally Posted by RAT-KING View Post
    Well done great fish
    wat did the damage?
    Fish caught using 'zoom' 4 inch baby bass soft plastic.

Caught smaller fish with the baby bass as well as the watermelon seed and midnite chart colours. All available at Fish Head (Victoria Point).

Went through lots of plastics, as every small squire seemed to be able to rip apart the plastic they were caught on, so I had to change for a new one.

Shane

great fish there

Yeah mate that was us. I took Brendan (reddybayfisher) and his father inlaw out to show him how to use plastics in the bay. We got heaps of squire with some keepers in amongst them. I got busted off and bitten through about 6 times by the big boys. I think he is going to do a post.

Its funny we saw you get that fish out a few times and just look at it in awww and to check it was real. As did we.

Great work in 2 od metres of water mate...
    Next time ill say hello BD

HI Shane

Great fish. I want to know your secret!!

Hi Mate,

That's one nice Snapper there. Congratulations. Coochie is one of my frequent haunts , I have caught plenty of squire their but nothing in that category.

Quote Originally Posted by BenDover View Post
    Yeah mate that was us. I took Brendan (reddybayfisher) and his father inlaw out to show him how to use plastics in the bay. We got heaps of squire with some keepers in amongst them. I got busted off and bitten through about 6 times by the big boys. I think he is going to do a post.

Its funny we saw you get that fish out a few times and just look at it in awww and to check it was real. As did we.

Great work in 2 od metres of water mate...
    Next time ill say hello BD

Thanks Ben,

I did bleed the fish and tried to get it in my esky which wasn't really big enough (nice problem to have). Thats why you may have seen me playing with it - also wanted to make sure someone saw what I caught.

Its been a very poor summer for me (personally), I've fished Coochie probably 6 or 7 times since November 08 (early Feb last time I was out on the Bay) and haven't even seen a legal fish till yesterday. My records show that in previous years I would always catch at least a couple of fish in the 40cm to 60+cm range, almost everytime I went out. Just don't know what happened this season - maybe seemingly endless NE winds haven't helped.

Yes, great fun with light gear, shallow water and fairly big fish. Its lucky the snapper do play fair and don't head for the nearest reef.

Shane

Good fish there. You may have given me a spot to hit sunday am as i wondering to go to potts point. Geez you got guts waiting until you see backing line. You were lucky to not be anchored as it would have taken all. Cheers