that bites!! you could always come and joint us at the bash instead?
Wednesday the 11th March. Thats the day that we will be leaving to head to Monduran for a week. The trip has been planned since late January, and lets just say the closer it gets, the more itchy I become.
But then Murphy has his say and throws in a cyclone...the low system could of just hang around for a bit and then pinged off...but no! Had to turn into a cyclone that will cross the coast according to the forecast.
All I can do is sit and wait to see what happens in the next 5 days. If anything good comes out of it, maybe the 'common sense fence' that surrounds Monduran will be knocked down.
Rant over.
Leigh.
that bites!! you could always come and joint us at the bash instead?
Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
'Oh Shit.....she's awake'
She'll be right, don't fret, it will be all over by then, that's what I'm telling myself, see you up there on the 15th.
That's if the BB doesn't send me blind......................
Pete.
Cool, is that down on the flat as u come in? I have a powered site up near the top amenities and Camp Kitchen. 4.45 Seajay, Ausfish stickers on the bow and a Red Kluger.
Pete.
Leigh, you might get a good inflow and experience a hot edge bite in newly flooded grass and you will think you are back at Hinze with giant bass on steroids! - Richard
I like the sound of that!
Ok then Pete...I will look out for you around the 12,478,386,357,257 kilometres of edge that Monduran has.
Ha, that just reminded me of an encounter I had with another fisherman last time I was up there, over 18months ago!!!! An old bloke and his wife had just launched their tinny when they asked me where the best spot to start would be. Having only done 2 previous trips myself, the best knowledge I could give him was "just fish the timbered areas". He looked happy enough as they pottered their way up the dam.
My wife turned to me and said "you know, that isnt really helpfull considering the amount of timber in this place!"...my reply "Well, he will discover that when he gets further up the dam, but for now, he is a happy fisherman with a plan!".
Leigh.
Leigh,
The local contingent start with Pete62, we arrive the next day on the 16th for three weeks. Bet you will see a few interstate plates. We are camped up top power sites.
Quintrex Explorer Trophy, "PA'STIME" and 30 Honda, Maroon stripes and boat cover. (Guess I might have originally come from Qld.)
The inflow sounds great, but once the weeds and grasses rot the back of Bay B wasn't the place to be, two to three weeks after the inflow around this time last year. But did improve over a couple of weeks. There's always good points and bad points in regard to inflow. But Mondy with all the various bays/ points and currents, there is always an option.
The pleasure is being there, the bonuses are the fishing/scenery and nice people. Hope to catch up.
Reports this last week (From more of us southerners), been quite, but a couple of quality fish still coming in for those who are prepared.
Trev
Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.
Leigh,
DONT WORRY
the cyclone is above CAIRNS!!!! there has never been any cyclone that crosses at Cairns that has any effect on Gin Gin (Monduran) its about 1500km away!!!!......you will be right. If the cyclone formed and crossed the coast at gladstone, or bundaberg then I would be thinking about it.
You will be OK mate...
Its funny, I was at foxies this morning and he had a call from a victorian worried about the same thing!!
Edit: The NQ boys on this site reckon it may?? cross between townsville and Mackay.......still wont affect Monduran!!
I am sure Borumba will be safe
Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.The Rest is just Wasted!
To The Shed.............
Monduran camp site lay out for general info
brian