Thread: Any Marlin out wide??

Any Marlin out wide??

Gday,
    Has anyone been fishing the nice warm current line sitting on and wide of the 200m East of about Mooloolaba or Noosa? It looks worth a look on the chart.

Any bait and or Billfish?

Myles

Re: Any Marlin out wide??

Heaps of bait and small Marlin {20-40kgs.} around the 8-12 mile areas. Have not been out to 200 depths, but would like to go if I can get some company.

G'day Myles, I was out off Noosa today and got smoked by a black in 50 metres. Was fishing solo and in about 10 secs i was spooled. With only a few loops left I had to crank the drag and pray. I had no chance.

Gday,
    Thanks for the replies fellas,

Schuey, thats the sort of action I had in mind. What line class were you fishing?
    I normally fish 24kg, or 8 for the lighter stuff, but I know of a few that have been nearly spooled on 37kg, wide of the 200m line East of Cape Moreton, on good size Blue Marlin.

I am keen to have a look around the area East of around the Barwon Banks area where the contour lines have a bit of a kink in them and it drops from 200m to around 600 very quickly.
    I have never fished that area but would like to try it out.

Any other reports/suggestions for this area will be greatly appreciated.

Myles

Myles, I was fishing 24 kilo on tiagras and avets plus also had a couple of baitrunners on board since i was earlier looking for spanish. I ususally have 4 big guns on board but today i skimped and paid the price. After looking for macs i trolled east of noosa and switched a hex head on wire to a black bart on mono but i was lazy and i didnt put it on one of the game reels. Not long after i'm watching this baitrunner empty quicker than a fart in an elevator. I was simply undergunned. The strike was just inside the Chardons and speaking with another bloke at the ramp, he had similar luck with a black there a few days earlier. Hope that helps.

Cheers mate,
    Sounds like fun anyway!

Myles

miles, the "kink" you speak of is called the dog leg. Plenty of blues, blacks and stripes have been caught there over the years.

A mate got a 78kg Black on Tuesday, came up tailwrapped on 15kg. A shame about that, but it wont go to waste. I will post pics with his permission once I figure out how to get the pics from phone to puter.

Thanks Jeffo,
    I figured it would be a well known spot, judging by the bottom contour and the current lines habit of sitting right on it on the SST chart.

Being Shorncliffe based I havn't been much further North than about abeam Mooloolaba on the 200m line, but I think I will have to check out the Dog leg soon!

Cheers for the replies all.

Myles