Tailor at Tweed?

Thread: Tailor at Tweed?

Tailor at Tweed?

G'day guys

Heard and seen some reports of Tailor being caught off the rock walls at the mouth of the Tweed River. Just wondering if anyone has any more detailed info on this or any other spots close to the area that we can try. Also what techniques have landed the fish with regards to slugs or baits and so on. We'll be landbased and coming from ipswich. We normally try off the headland at Cabarita.

Ausfish Platinum Member breamnut's Avatar

Re: Tailor at Tweed?

yer mate a fair few choppers have been getting around aswell as some queenies.
    the gillies slugs (white baitfish) have to be my favourite, getting a fair bit of success on the 15g model

Hi mate,
    I am down at Ballina and there is heaps of legal to just over 1kg Tailor around here at the moment. I would imagine they are thick right up the coast. We have had huge schools of bait fish and they have brought the Tailor with them. I have found that they are hitting just about any metal and popper. I prefer the gilles and river to sea sea rock in 40 - 60g. White, blue and white and pink have been the pick of colours. I would go a bit heavier than 15g if you are going of the walls or headlands though to get a bit more distance and also to get a bit more control with the winds that have been around.

Yup. I was fishing a little bit inside of the mouth, land based, on the southern banks for lizards about a week ago in the late afternoon and saw 3 boils(each lasting about 5 mins) in the space of an hour. I watched with frustration, soft plastics gear in hand. Oh, for a pole and a slug.

Good luck mate, hope you get on to a few

Ok thanks guys.

What is the country like down there? Is it pretty snaggy? I'll be taking my 13'6 Snyder Glas with an alvey for baits and my 7' plastics rod for slugs. What are your thoughts on a 7' rod off the rocks there? It's loaded up with 20lb braid and prolly run a 30lb leader. Just worried not having the extra length for getting snagged on the rocks at my feet lol.

Also what side of the river should i try, north or south?

Yep the Tailor are certainly around the mouth of the Tweed. I've found em on Kirra and Fingal Beaches as well (not consistently though). Haven't fished with baits off the rocks and haven't had any trouble with slugs getting snagged. I've been using the South side, take the dirt track all the way to the rocks.

I was on the southern banks just around the corner from where goat boy was and the few boils were closer to the Northern side that afternoon. The deeper water is on the Northern side. Not snaggy out wide, but the 7ft rod may be a little short. It may not, depending on how you fish and if you have mates all around you. If you have enough room you can flick the slug out of the water and up on to the bank a few metres beside you(so you don't cop a treble).

Tip: If you have use google earth, try looking at the place you intend to fish before you go there. Sometimes it can help you decide where you may want to fish. Keep in mind that sandbanks can change, but it can give you a general idea of deeper areas, little rocky outcrops, deep corrugations in the sand, etc.
    Sometimes for your intended area, the picture is full of glare on the water and doesn't help, But I know the mouth of the Tweed is crystal clear in the pics.

Ok thanks alot guys. If we don't have much luck there we'll probably head down Cabarita way. Hopefully we can bag some fish

Oh are there any other places that might be worth a try? We'll go down as far as about Hastings Point. It makes it hard when you can't run down to the beach the day before and look for a nice gutter which sucks.

Cheers guys

I fished the northern rocks about 500m in from the mouth of the tweed this arvo.
    Very quiet, nothing happening and the few tinnies getting about were getting nothing either. I fished un-weighted whole pilchards, around the top of the tide I got 9-10 Bream ranging from 23-26cm. No snags either, and tonnes of baitfish.