Thread: Making lures

Making lures

I am astounded that there is no area here for 'Tackle making', so many of us fish, yet in Australia there is no tackle making forums.
    I have been a member of a few sites in the U.S for a couple of years, and some have members from all around the world, yet here with all the fishing that goes on, no one seems to make lures, or are not willing to give up any secrets - believe me we have no secrets, it's all been done years back.
    I have been making lures for years on and off, yet have never met anyone else in Au that does, I live in a city of 300,000 people and feel like I am some sort of weirdo, there must be a huge 'underground' of makers out there.pete

Heres a couple of mine:
    3" shallow

2" GLIDERS

Re: Making lures

Second try.

Hazmail,

Have a look under the right section "Tackle" and you might find a lot more information than here in the General section. No doubt the mods will move your post there as soon as they see it.

There are more lure makers than we realize. Myself, I make my own jigheads and posted results on more than one occasion, even gathered a heap of friendly AF members at a meet and greet last year - we had a ball! and all learned heaps. MAybe you are refering to Hard body only?

PS. I started this reply B4 you sorted out your photo problem. They look the goods!!!

Hazmail, they do look the goods indeed. They look so professional. Bet you must get a thrill when you hook on to something knowing it's been fooled by a lure you created. I fiddled around making various metal lures when I was a kid, and carved a few bodies from timber and painted them for fun, but neve did anything with bib's and hooks. Can you recommend a good place for someone who has no idea about this sort of thing to start?

i make my own poppers and metals, and had a go at making hardbodys and have one question when you make the snap back ones do you just make the whole thing like a normal hardbody then cut through in certain places and join them together.....?
    CHEERS BRAD

Thanks guys, I knew there would be someone out there.
    'Lizardman' - here is a good place to start, no matter what you want to build.
    http://www.tackleunderground.com/forum/index.php

'breamboss' - before you start shaping your squared blank, mark and cut your joints partially through from each side to near the centre, which is about 80% each side for foam or 90% for wood, shape the lure and then snap or cut the pieces off, this way if you start with a square piece of wood/foam, you don't have any problems with lining up the segments etc, as you will on an un-square piece.pete
    Last edited by hazmail; 28-02-2009 at 02:31 PM. Reason: add text

Here's a selection of mine.............................

as stated earlier, you haven't looked in or searched the right areas.

For those of you that want to have a go at luremaking try www.jannsnetcraft.com
    They sell just about everything the D.I.Y. fisherman needs. Pity the Aussie $ has fallen through the floor though.

Im just wondering how you guys finish your lures, with paint and such. I've just had a quick go at carving my own lures and in an hour out the back knocked up a little bream lure and a popper just out of a bit of old dowel. i gave them a quick paint but they look like rubbish. Im interested in basically how you get the gloss finish. Thanks in advance.
    Nick.

on poppers i make i sand them back smooth with 400 grit.
    spray 2-3 coats of spray on putty/ filler
    sand back once again
    paint it
    spray with clear gloss/or
    outdoor varnish/ lacquer......

should bring em up nice and shiny and smooth......
    CHEERS BRAD

Jeff, those lures look great mate. What's your method of sealing, both prior to, and after, painting?

BREAMBOSS, what sort of clear gloss spray are you using after the paint? Is it tough and durable? I find when my lures get bitten, the 2 part gloss coat I use tends to get knocked around quite easily. I need a better method.

Hazmail, I too am a keen maker of lures, but I still have plenty to learn. You can see my efforts on this thread: http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=144038

RB
    searchin' for my lost shaker of salt

gday redbull

on a couple i have tried top coat car paint in spray tin but reacted with some of the other spray paints. also have tried araldite brushed over the lure and some left over heavy duty east watson varnish with multiple coats......

havent suceeded on hooking a fish on them yet so dont know about teeth marks but they have stood up against hitting rocks and other hard things......
    CHEERS BRAD

BB, I would have thought the araldite method does not produce a very clear finish? From my experience, araldite dries in a cloudy brown sort of colour?

I might have to try the spray car paint stuff. Is it clear gloss right?

RB
    searchin' for my lost shaker of salt