Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Still want to fish in a green zone....Maybe you can

Re: Still want to fish in a green zone....Maybe you can

Same way they did up here. Tap into Tax's, the latest one will be the increased rego for boaties.

Up here they put on hold vital road works still being put on hold bloody Mt Low Parkway.

G'day Webby,

Perhaps these new laws will be enforced like the fin clipping regs. A period of help and educate, and then a period of enforcement, where effort might change over time as they balance priorities. (Don't know that there was much of a lead in period for e-pirb stickers?)

Who knows when the help and educate period ends, if they decide to have one that goes past the TV ads, glossy books and signs. Perhaps not a good idea to be on the wrong side of a sign tomorrow :-)

The larrikin spirit is alive and well although maybe not as strong as it used to be? And they don't hang or flog people any more (in Australia) for taking on 'the system' which is more good news.

As to having a day in court Lucky Phill, I remember a reported tax case from the 80s where the penalty was set at a level not to punish the person before the tribunal, but at a level to discourage others from offending. That kind of lines up with not having enough resources to continuously patrol, so hammer some that are caught.

Perhaps, like that tax case, the experience will be calculated to be painful enough to be an example to others not to take the risk.

I think we are stuck with it in one shape or another. Just hope it provides some benefit to the environment and not just a few votes/political payback. I'll miss fishing Nundah Creek and wonder what's next. Sunny Coast?

Rick K

Quote Originally Posted by Rod Fishing View Post
    Planes and helo's are from first hand experience. When the green zones came in vogue up here, there was an increase in air surveilance activity.

I don't take anything personal Phil. It is my opinion. I stand corrected and the size of the zoneing i had a look at the zoneing map, however 16% is still quite a small area.

I hope that LNP comes to the party however I can't see it happening. the zoneing laws come into place tomorrow I beleive, I wouldnt want to be caught.
    I am going to assume that you are a born and bred North Queenslander who has never fished Moreton Bay so i will put the 16% in perspective for you. Let's say we take 16% of the waters around townsville and make them Marine Park green zones and I mean 16% of all the waters out to the reef. We take all around Maggie, Rattlesnake and the Palms, all the Cape and all of the reefs. We leave you with 84% of the water from the coast out to the reefs but with any real structure, basically desert. That is what is happening here. Sure they have left us 84%, but a large proportion of it is barren sand bottom. The banks closest to the southern ramps in Cleveland and Wello are taken so that the average guy has to travel a great deal further around or through the green zone to have a fish. If you are to take a third of the whiting banks, why take that which can be fished by Joe average, why not an area that is more pristine across the top and centre of the great expanse of banks and therefore of greater value as a conservation zone? Because the law is to discourage fisherman entirely, not to preserve fish and habitat! The EPA is supposedly in charge of ensuring that the water quality is kept at a high level, why is this ignored?

We accept that green zones are going t happen, but let's have some honesty and common sense, something that the Bligh person doesn't exhibit!

Mate,

Actually I was born and bread in Northern NSW Kingscliff. I spent 10 years in Brisbane.

I have fished the Baran banks quite a bit as one of my good mates lives at Moffit Beach. So I have fished a quite a bit down there. As for the 16% of green zones, most of Maggy Island is either green or yellow. Seriously though if they were to do what you surgested it would nnoy alot of local fisho's. So much that they would probably go out and stimulate the local ecomony and purchase a bigger boat so they can fish the shoals and reef. Each year up here more and more people are upgradeing to larger reef boats. So the zoneing wouldnt have that much of an effect on the locals.

If I had a about $50000 lazy I would head south and purchase a few 6m glass boats and sell them up here for about $2500 - $5000 more than what I paid for them down there. Therte are a few people doing that and making a killing doing it. Drive down Friday night and Saturday Morning, pick upthe boat and then drive back Saturday night and Sunday morning.

Good luck withit all.

Quote Originally Posted by Rod Fishing View Post
    Mate,

Actually I was born and bread in Northern NSW Kingscliff. I spent 10 years in Brisbane.

I have fished the Baran banks quite a bit as one of my good mates lives at Moffit Beach. So I have fished a quite a bit down there. As for the 16% of green zones, most of Maggy Island is either green or yellow. Seriously though if they were to do what you surgested it would nnoy alot of local fisho's. So much that they would probably go out and stimulate the local ecomony and purchase a bigger boat so they can fish the shoals and reef. Each year up here more and more people are upgradeing to larger reef boats. So the zoneing wouldnt have that much of an effect on the locals.

If I had a about $50000 lazy I would head south and purchase a few 6m glass boats and sell them up here for about $2500 - $5000 more than what I paid for them down there. Therte are a few people doing that and making a killing doing it. Drive down Friday night and Saturday Morning, pick upthe boat and then drive back Saturday night and Sunday morning.

Good luck withit all.
    What happens to the people who canot afford a bigger boat?Do they just stop fishing now?I know we have to live with this but i wont lay down and take this without a fight.The big picture is in todays paper with the greens already stating they now want 30% of the bay,how big a boat will i need then?
    The simple problem is this round of green zones in moreton bay is not about science or indeed preservation of our great bay,it is about green preferences at an election.
    Oddly enough I do believe green zones are necessary but they should be located to do the most good while balancing the needs of society and nature.
    They should be based on science not green preferences.
    If you dont have any fight left in you on this issue then that is ok,but there are a lot of people down here who still have a lot of fight left in them.
    The green movement is an evil cancer in our society eating away at our rights and freedoms.

If you always do what you've always done
    You'll always get what you've always got

Quote Originally Posted by dnej View Post
    See I told you( LOL)
    David
    David..obviously you were given this information prior to its release...may I ask as to what position you hold to enable you to have been in the know on this ???

Quote Originally Posted by webby View Post
    Dont no about planes and radar down here, fisheries and the water police cannot get enough funding to fuel there boats for continuous patrols, so how are they going to enforce the new zones as from 1mar09.
    They seem to have enough fuel and boats to check me, 5 times in 2008. Probably only went out a dozen times and not just weekends. EPA, Marine Parks and Water Police. My mates now reckon, I'm a magnet cos I look like a terroist!

People will be left with 2 choices once Moreton Bay's closed.

1. Buy a bigger boat.
    2. Use the one you have to get outside.
    3. Stop boating.

1 is unfair to the extreme.
    2 will cause major safety issues. Ye Gods I shiver now when I see a tinnie at Square Patch, but there will be more of it. People lost, boats going over at South Passage Bar or coming around the Cape.
    3 is just tragic.

After a few years you won't be trying to fish the Bay anyway, 'cause it will either be totally dead or silted up. I wonder how they will explain that with no Anglers to blame?

But really, if you take a totally OBJECTIVE look at the zoning plan, and how it's been implemented (forget the politics please) they are an abortion.

Now, back to the politics.

As Catfishkid said, this is about the cancerous addiction to Green preferences. This election the LNP are the surgeon (or maybe a serious dose of Chemo?) Next election? Who knows...

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Quote Originally Posted by catfishkid View Post
    The green movement is an evil cancer in our society eating away at our rights and freedoms.

Lol! Right now Anna is smoking too much Greenie. Is there an advertising opportunity in this?

"Sure, Greenies taste good now, but later, when you can't breathe..." That guy in the cigarette suit could get another gig, just paint him Green!

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Heard Craig Bohm on the radio this morning...

His words were.....INCREASING LEVELS OF PROTECTION

It is obvious that their position is OCCASIONAL CATCHES OF FISH

So we can definitely expect these extreem greens to be pushing for more and more closures.

We believe thay were pushing for 30% from this round in moreton bay and were GIVEN 15%....when international conventions recommend 10% and not necessarily total closure.

we can expect they will continue to push for more and more closures 50% , 75%.

If we have 50% closures in moreton bay on the same basis of current closures there will be absolutely no point owning a boat under 40 foot.

Don't worry they will be targeting off shore closures too.

If this isn't sorted this time arround we all might as well take up woodturning and turn vegitarian.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

Sure Pinhead,
    I worked with Chris on the first rally, although it be late in the day,getting channel 7 to front up.

David Gibson, by invitation,came along to give us a chat, and I met him then.
    Since then I have been pushing our cause,with David as has Chris.

I put it to him, to be there on Saturday. It was then he told me of the documents, and the LNP, proposals. However he asked me not to let the cat out of the bag, due to the release at Wellington Point.

By suggesting we could still fish in the green zones, added some interest to the rally.
    Regards David

thanks for your response David. With my total cycnicism regarding pollies, Mr Gibson's disclosure to yourself appears to be a breach of confidentiality. I would be very careful about information given to Mr Gibson if it is to be in a confidential matter.

MMmmmm...reading between the lines over this new policy I would be highly surprised if it was not thunked up between KC and the borg...

Quote Originally Posted by catfishkid View Post
    What happens to the people who canot afford a bigger boat?Do they just stop fishing now?I know we have to live with this but i wont lay down and take this without a fight.The big picture is in todays paper with the greens already stating they now want 30% of the bay,how big a boat will i need then?
    The simple problem is this round of green zones in moreton bay is not about science or indeed preservation of our great bay,it is about green preferences at an election.
    Oddly enough I do believe green zones are necessary but they should be located to do the most good while balancing the needs of society and nature.
    They should be based on science not green preferences.
    If you dont have any fight left in you on this issue then that is ok,but there are a lot of people down here who still have a lot of fight left in them.

What happens to those who cant afford a bigger boat? Start fishing up the sunny coats you can get some good catches of snapper off the inner gnearings. Get out of your back yard fish else where go and explore. Find new ground, just stop whinging like little babies and deal with the new law. Or grow a set and take the EPA to court.

DO NOT FOR A MINUTE THINK THIS STOPS AT MORETON BAY.

This is part of a national campaign on the part of the extreem greens.

They have ideas of all sorts of closures.

If you are up north and you want a shock....check out what they want to do with the Coral Sea closures... not content with the massive closure in the GBRMP and the dreconian laws and penalties they want to shut down most of the off shore reefs in the Coral Sea...and on the basis of what science?....No science just because they think it is a good idea.

Make no mistake if this whole attitude isnt dealt with there will be more closures.

Simon Baltis has been doing the rounnds of the radio stations and he has made it clear they are in favour of ongoing and increasing closures.

No if you are in the muddle part of the bay... consider this
    The greens are on record saying they want "protection" of the entire waterloo bay from king island arround the west of wellington point arround to Many.

I am gob smacked.... because I do not know what they hope to achieve by this except to close down fishing.

Believe me these people are anti fishing and anti boating...for that matter they will also be anti 4WD.....and they want this polocy everywhere.

Have no doubt the Gennerings will be in their sights along with just about anywhere that looks pretty or wild...so stick all those headlands with good rock fishing.... now maggy island...Oh that is a target too good to resist.

We have to get in the ear of our pollies now, and it seesm we have to get rid of the green aligned current labour government this election.....before the labour party have to pay the piper for favours done with more closures in their next term

Every time you can manage to cominto a politician or party representative.... make your disapointment known loud and long.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.