Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Am i reading this right

Re: Am i reading this right

is always a concern coming off Fraser after the Toyota comp, say we fish with six blokes and we have one freezer and that freezer goes home in the ute with only two people then they are in possession of a lot more than allowed

but as said if you are nice and don't do the wrong thing in other ways as in keeping undersized fish etc then I believe you would have no worries

cheers Murf

It's just the way the 90% who cant catch fish bring the 10% who can down to there own level!!!

As far as at home goes i think your pretty safe unless you are blackmarket selling and fisheries get wind of it! The fillets in your freezer would have been portioned and maybe skinned, now unless they are going to DNA test to prove species and number ( there maybe just 5 VERY VERY BIG FISH) you'll be safe! Now as far as i know the dna tests are 18 month behind ( unless you rob the police ministers office ) so i cant see fisheries bothering with the time or expense can you!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Wahoo View Post
    ROFPML, thats funny as Shane

Scott, i have never thought that they can do this, but they can

Yeah we are all nothing more than 'chop chop' dealers now, I used to label less than brilliant eating fish as brilliant eating fish as I had a couple of mates who where fish snobs and might even watch the bags come out of the freezer, they never worked the ruse out either.

Today, best to be sure everything in the fridge is bludger! ahhh so much of the spice and good things forever lost......

I've heard about this.

They would have to be pretty pickie. Again, as mentioned earlier they would have to have suspect you were doing something illegal.

What happens with the bag limit if you have been out with 4 blokes in the boat, and you get 28 trout, and you only have a 2 seater car and the boat on the back and you get pulled over? You are in possession of more than your limit do you get booked then?

I'd reckon that they are after the black market sales.

At one stage a while back I would have been in deep sh*t if they checked my freezer, we got 100 trout in 3 weeks.

Pazz

I have it on good authority that this law was put in place to help stop black market fishermen. So if you are doing nothing illegal you have nothing to worry about and are pretty safe!
    There are a few blokes down this way (NSW) that have been mackerel fishing everday for the past week that should be worried-very worried!! Expect a knock on the door fellas because the same law applies in NSW!
    "May your ratchet keep screamin"
    www.ausfish.com.au/bpc

Quote Originally Posted by mono View Post
    I have it on good authority that this law was put in place to help stop black market fishermen. So if you are doing nothing illegal you have nothing to worry about and are pretty safe!
    There are a few blokes down this way (NSW) that have been mackerel fishing everday for the past week that should be worried-very worried!! Expect a knock on the door fellas because the same law applies in NSW!
    yeah I agree, hence the chop chop I mentioned above ...still so was the fin clip punitive regulation, a recfisherman must disprove the assumption of automatic guilt by clipping a fin...hence guilt assumed before innocence, doing nothing wrong today has little to do with fisherys law or the fine or the punishment that will be received. It's a brave new world.

Quote Originally Posted by mono View Post

thanks for that info Mono, you are correct

I always thought it was a daily bag limit, species such as blue groper and bass had possession rules not all the species

I have done many ill eagle stuff then as mates have driven to my place in their own car from the boat ramp after a days fishing and I have had the catch still in the boat on the trailer, so I have had double the possession of fish on me

I guess we are all criminals as there is no way we could do everything legal in our lives, and some of the laws presume we are guilty of offending before we even do anything in a lot of circumstances too

cheers Murf

No one will enter my property without a warrant .

It will be hard to convict you even if you had 50 snappers in the freezer. ( i've only caught 5 in my lifetime, so far)
    Nans 5 snaper, gramps, mums, dads, aunties, friends.

i know DPI - fireants people can inspect outside, but not inside.

Bugger, i got a baby baramuni as a pet- i wonder if i will get a fine for that one too. ( pet store brought)

Cheers Murf,
    Its a shame that laws such as these have to be put in place to stop a few bad eggs. I dont think any of us have 'always' been angels and have bent the rules on a few occasions intentionally or by accident, thats life.
    But it still amazes me the hide and brashness of some of the blackmarketers around this area! I'm sure its the same in most ports around Aus.

"May your ratchet keep screamin"
    www.ausfish.com.au/bpc

here are a couple of things that have been raised before.

In possesion is just that and that cuts two ways.

If you have too many in the freezer, perhaps you need to give em to you brother who lives down the road.
    If there are 4 in the house......up goes the in possesion.

I have argued in the past about the big esky in the boat situation that if there are a group of blokes fishing that the cahtch should be clearly marked as to who it belongs to... seperate eskies, seperate containers or compartments or simply labled... JIM... FRED... BRUCE.

An if these guys are able to vouch, particularly if they could describe the details of their take unprompted, I would be very surprised if it would go far.

I agree that this like many other pieces of fisheries legslation need to be made more specific and managable.

This fin clipping is a crock......if you are dealing black market you arent going to be holding unfinclipped fish.........you will finclip, then take them home and value add by fileting and portioning, then turn them arround very quickly.

If you were smart you could run a nice dodgy fish business with no risk of being zipped for failing to finclip or being over bag.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

Mince them all up and make fish cakes...
    Add into the fish "shrinkage" we were talking about once (eg how fish shrink a bit after they die)...and it makes you feel safe knowing that most times you catch bugger all anyway.......now if i just anchor 5mts the other side of the green zone and cast into it......
    ..Greg...."Termites pay the bills"..... Trailcraft 475...75 Hp E-Tec

Timddo, I appreciate your fervour at not allowing anybody to enter your property without a warrant.
    Be warned though that many of the authorities have 'legal' rights to enter your residence with suspicion only. Stopping them would only add to the 'guilt'.
    As far as I know anybody can enter your property as long as they stay on the path to your front door. It I believe is classed as public access. The moment they step off the path however is classed as trespassing.
    And guys, yeah the queue is long for DNA testing but if they want to chase it down they will.
    Mono is right the law was passed to stop the blackmarketing but hence does not go lenient on the average fisho.
    Not too sure on NSW or other states but in Qld it is 'in possession' not daily.
    As for anybody who has an aquarium there are separate rules and regs but I dare say that if you had an undersized barra without I think a permit then you'd be in trouble.

Shane

This fishing outside a gren zone is an interesting one.....i think 5 meters is pushing the freindship a bit but 20 meters out would be a reasonable thing.

so you are legaly fishing outside a green zone and you get a screaming hook up again all outside a green zone....... so this fish is taking line at teriffic rate......AND... the fish heads into the green zone... you and your boat are still outside............now are you fishing in a green zone .

Consider that you can easily get 950 metres of standard 15lb mono on a 7 inch alvey .

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

I have only heard of one bloke that was nabbed in Hervey Bay and they raided his house, although that was a black marketer as suggested by a few of the guys allready.

Every now and again the local fisheries crew raid various Caravan parks in the area and nab a few I believe. I think with these raids they tend to get mostly grey nomads with the freezer in the van stocked full with as many itty bitty winter whiting fillets crammed in as possible.

I doubt they can walk onto your property without a warrant, surely?

I think the only people who can walk in without permission are water inspectors and Coppers
    Dont forget the Health Inspectors and the worst of all the taxman who have quite wide powers of entry, not exactly sure of the details but I think they have to provide notice of intention to enter.