Thread: Couple Of Mondy Fish From Last Weekend

Re: Couple Of Mondy Fish From Last Weekend

Top effort Brian,always a good read,congrats to the kids too.You always make me wanna be there
    Paulo

Excellent report Brian - you may be a 'dumb ass sparky' but you definitely do not lack skill in either catching barra or conveying your experience to others.

Doesn't matter if you post a report of if we speak to you, the passion is clearly there. You describe me as a 'barra tragic' but you are no better!!

Is it just me or have the fish changed? Last year anything over 1m was fatter, lazier and only put up a strong but token effort when hooked. All the best action came from fish in the 90s........

This season fish betweeen 100cm and 110cm are giving enormous accounts of themselves. They are much slimmer (even though there is heaps of bait about) and fight right to the net. Your description of the 106 reminded me of my 104 around the weed bed in December...

Amazing noting the subtle changes in both the fishery and the fish every year....

Regs

Definately more aggressive in their response to being hooked Pete compared to last year, I put it down to the current high temps?, but now youve got me thinking about the over all appearence of all the fish Ive caught recently, and there is a more pronounced trend towards a slimmer model, marry that with water quality, lack of birds, throw in a pinch of salt, and who knows what it means?? lol

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    but now youve got me thinking about the over all appearence of all the fish Ive caught recently, and there is a more pronounced trend towards a slimmer model, marry that with water quality, lack of birds, throw in a pinch of salt, and who knows what it means?? lol
    Mate, you never stop thinking! That's why you catch so many barra

Brian,

mate, the teflon must be wearing off..you were here....with people!! Everyone knew you were coming....whats going on??? no more sneaky trips !!

Great read mate, great story too...I know what you mean, some of the best fights and situations dont always happen on the biggest fish....them 95-105cm (well inc 106cm) are the best fighters by far...then there are the fish that are just plain memorable for whatever reason.

The bloke would have been Woodsy, Blue/white skeeter with 15yammie on back???...if you could hear him then it was him! I will PM you.

Cheers Steve

PS edit: Dumb Sparky???? never met a dumb one yet....anyone who can charge brain surgeon rates for joining a few wires is smart in my mind
    Seriously, I said it about 2 years ago, you consistantly catch fish in all conditions, anytime of year. You have been the most consistant bloke on here, guides excluded (I doubt anyone would disagree)......mate, you must be learning something! You cant catch fish with persistance alone!

Well said Stevo!! He's a dead set fish magnet.
    A dumb sparky is a dead sparky!! You really have to be switched on for that job.
    Brian I think you guys should give up the sugary stuff and drink the rum straight, all that sugar is obviously giving you a shocking hangover.
    Congrats on a great trip and a great read. The metery's really do go off like a frog in a sock don't they. I don't think I can hold out until june, we may be doing a sneaky trip soon. See you at the bash.
    Cheers Kim.
    Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
    'Oh Shit.....she's awake'

BR65, great report!

would be something to see a barra of that size tail walking, let alone in a glass out after a storm.

Inspiring stuff.

As for dumb ass sparky, agee with Yellow Belly, ok Callop, you seem to be able to string words pretty well.

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post

I wish I wasnt a dumb ass sparky, and more of a wordsmith, cause the images that "little" 106 have burned into the back of my nogging will keep me awake for many a nite to come, and it would have been great to share that with all the IBD'ers here.
    Your word smithing scrubs up quite nicely Brian....painted an epic picture.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

As usual a well presented report Brian.....I have to agree with SteveB you with out doubt the most improved and successful Barra nailer in the last couple of years and running a close second is Nath in my opinion.....you have taken your new found information and applied it to achieve good catch rates.......Well done.....see you at Borumba for a sherbert or 2

Naths got me mate, he does it usually with familly or crew in tow, Im normally solo!
    I reckon consistancy is the big thing, said before any one can pull a fish on a hot bite period, but a shut down dam is the challange I reckon, that gets the fishey senses working over time to ensure theres no pastries to be chewed on.
    If we can ever get to the stage where that 1 or 2 is regularly turned into half a dozen per sesh, I reckon we might be getting there.