cheaper imported camping generators

Thread: cheaper imported camping generators

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

cheaper imported camping generators

Hi guys,

I know this sort of thread was done a bit last year, but I wanted to get some further advice.

I am looking into getting a generator for basic camping. My aim is to run it during the day to charge a deep cycle battery/ies...which will run my waeco cf 50, some lights, maybe a kettle at night etc. I know the old saying "you get what you pay for".....but I really will only be using it maybe twice a year for short trips.

Has anyone bought a cheaper one, and wishes to share their experience, brand, price and where they got it. Or if anyone has any links to some of these units.

I am looking for something as quiet as possible (obviously)
    -around 2kva size
    - 4 stroke prefereably
    -price $0- $1000.

I know Hondas and Yammies are the best....but out of my price range, unless someone has a goody second hand they want to part with

Thanks in advance for any advice

cheers Steve

Re: cheaper imported camping generators

If silence isn't golden, Trade Tools do a 2500 watt 4 stroke which I can vouch for - mine's got probably around 1000hrs (guess) on it. It's been dropped from utes and repaired a few times, but refuses to give up the ghost.
    Other than that I saw bunnings had a chinese knock off of an inverter genny recently - might be worth a look.

mate go down to tent world they have a 2 kva kipper for around that money! very quiet and a copy of the honda in everyway! i own a 1kva honda and love it! but to day was in at tent world
    they also have the engel 2kva for $1399 i think the kipor is also that but they have a 2.6kva for about $1590, anyway give them a ring they could be cheaper than that ! memory effected by MR jimmy beam.

but the chinese ones are noisy! i had a 2.6kva and man was it noisy, also had te gmc ones they are ok but still noisy! and unreliable! thats wy i now have a honda!

thanks guys,

Shane, would your 1kva honda run a waeco CF 50 and a few lights etc? OK? or would it charge a 130Amp hr deep cycle OK??

cheers Steve

Ausfish Platinum Member griz066's Avatar

I have a 850 w GMC does all I need Have a look on eBay http://search.ebay.com.au/inverter-g...fclZ3QQfromZR2
    Tight lines <*)(((((((((><

Smile Re: cheaper imported camping generators

Do yourself a favour & try to get a 2kva honda on e-bay - the cheapos are exactly that & noisy as - the hondas will power a full caravan including a/c large fridge & lighting

I have a 2kva Kipor and it is a top unit. You can shop around and get 2 for the price of 1 Honda. I have had no problems with mine in the 4 years I have had it. Clocked up over 500 hours with it, great on fuel and same bd rating as a Honda. I use it for Beach Bush Work & Home in black outs. But at the end of the day a Honda is a Honda only if you have the spare coin, if not a Kipor is as good as they get IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    thanks guys,

Shane, would your 1kva honda run a waeco CF 50 and a few lights etc? OK? or would it charge a 130Amp hr deep cycle OK??

cheers Steve
    hi steve yes mate it would run it easy as!i run mine at night time only and i run a waeco cf80 ,a 150watt spot light , a twin tube 4ft fluro and also the battery charger that charges my 120ah deep cycle battery! i charge my battery off a battery charger not off the machine! safer that way!

Quote Originally Posted by shano View Post
    hi steve yes mate it would run it easy as!i run mine at night time only and i run a waeco cf80 ,a 150watt spot light , a twin tube 4ft fluro and also the battery charger that charges my 120ah deep cycle battery! i charge my battery off a battery charger not off the machine! safer that way!

Thanks Shano, I am tossing between 1 and 2 kva purely due to the lack of work it will do.!!

I really planned to do something similar to you and run the genny to charge a 130ah deep cycle during the day/early evening...then run the CF50 and a few lights etc during the night off the battery...I would use a 3.5amp battery charger to do it....might be a bit slow though???

On a side note, I have been watching the cheapies on E bay!! heres one I looked at....and neeeeearly bought at $260!!!
    http://cgi.ebay.com.au/NEW-1000W-1-0...QQcmdZViewItem

The noise rating for this 1kva says 92db....I think that may be a typo error, as the equviant 2kva model (same 4stroke motor, housing etc) has a rating of 56db!!...which sounds closer to the mark!!

Cheers Steve

Jaffo, thanks for the advice mate.....yes, I am seriously looking at the Kipor....I have seen a few in action and have been impressed...not as much as the Hondas....but equivilant respect vs $$

Ausfish Platinum Member darylive's Avatar

Steve,

I have hondas for work and they are brilliant. I have an el cheapo GMC myself, it does the job but in reality have rarely used it. If I think of it I will bring it to Borumba so you can have a play. They are not as quite as the brand name ones but in reality if you are in a noise sensitive place you can't use a genny any way.

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Ausfish Platinum Member darylive's Avatar

Cool Re: cheaper imported camping generators

Steve that E-Bay one looks great

and it has a 90 day warrenty . They clearly have plenty of faith in their product?

The warrenty would be half gone by the time you got it .

The GMC ain't flash but they just give you a new one if it dies in twelve months.

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Ausfish Platinum Member griz066's Avatar

I just found an Engel for under $1000 I am gunna get one myself

http://www.discountcamping.com.au/in...pageid=gennies
    Tight lines <*)(((((((((><

Mate i have one of the el-cheapo 2.2kva generator's off of E-bay........a mate acciedently bid on two different machine's and won both...........so he offered me one and i bought it.........it's a knock off of the Honda 20i.......it look's very similar.

So far it's only done roughly 20hrs........but so far so good........it is quiet and easy to start............longevity?.........well who know's i have pulled all the outer housing off and had a look around it and it seem's ok.......nothing look's dodgy anyway.It was around the $600 mark from memory and that's delivered all the way to Darwin.

Obviously the Honda is a better unit..........but it's also 4 time's the expense so for me and what i want to do with it i'm happy enough with the one i have now..........maybe a few years down the track if i could justify a better one and spending the extra $$$ i'll upgrade but untill then the chinese jobby will do.

Dan.

Careful with GMC they are now or just were in receivership, Our warranty has already been declined on one of their products as a result.

I have an ebay 2kv inverter 4 stroke, it's LOUD, works Ok though, originally took 3 packages of replacement fuel pumps until one worked + another problem, if i was not handy this one would not be working.

Mine is yellow, was cheap at the time 3 years ago $700 ish to my door, looks somewhat like a kippor type but I am unsure, still since sorting it out it has been reliable but has done little work really, did i mention it's LOUD?

Do any of these come with an ELCB or RCD or safety switch and earth bonding terminal (which is just a stud on the frame with the earth symbol on it)??
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good