Hi all, just wondering where I can get some 2mm-3.5mm plastic coated galvanised steel trace? Also how much is this going to cost?
Cheers Tom
Hi all, just wondering where I can get some 2mm-3.5mm plastic coated galvanised steel trace? Also how much is this going to cost?
Cheers Tom
Off mum's hills hoist Tom.
Big wire young fella. What are you going to do with it??
Are you going to be home tomorrow. I have some dodads for you.
Cheers Scott
I intend on living for-ever....so far so good
bunnings
neil
Ok thanks Neil, do you know how much it is???
Tom
You can get stainless wire but without the coating for about $1/m of ebay
I intend on living for-ever....so far so good
Nah it needs the coating sadly, but cheers Scott.
Heavier plastic coated cables are notorious for not holding with crimps well, you would be better off sliding some plastic tuber over a bare crimped stainless cable.
Are you using a car winch as your reel Tom. You must be after Jaws. Pommy and i went out late this arvo and we were only using 50lb heat weld wire and pulled in 4. The biggest went 5' to the tip of the tail. Next time i might go a bit heavier but that stuff works a treat. See if they have heat weld in 100lb, it should be fine for most sharks unless you are after HUGE ones.
the halco crimp kits with the coated stranded wire can be had at any kmart in a variety of breaking strains...the bu=iggest I've seen ther is 80Lb
that should do ya.
Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.
hi,
try your nearest bcf store as i got one.....40lbs two weeks ago.i think that theyre branded as surecatch product.mine costs less than $10 for 60m.good stuff as you can melt the plastic coating after tying a knot.
I am trying large stingrays as bait for 8footers hehe. I've been told by many sharkies that I should use Plastic coated wire so that's what I am going to do.
Tom
Awww mate, please don't.
I've got a good 10 years on you and 6ft'ers still keep me on my toes. Get yourself used to fighting them in the 3-4ft mark. You'll still have your work cut out, then if you think you've got the body build to handle 1-2hours of solid torture then go chasing them with ray flaps.
Remember it is wise not to try catching fish that are bigger than you .....unless you have some seriously experienced help.
Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.
What sort of gear are you using for sharks? The trace ive got for sharks is a big cable, probs 1.5mm diametre. it has a breaking strain of 500lb. overkill really, but i was given it.
plastic coated wire is generaly made for knotting. 3.5mm wire is basically cable which can hold immense loads. ive used it for guy wires in the past, at that sort of size you will need shackles. The only issue with sharks would be firstly the teeth. It doesnt take huge gauge wire to prevent bite offs, and hte tail rasps they have, but if you make it long enough it will be fine.
Owen