Monduran - points, plastics & pouring rain...

Thread: Monduran - points, plastics & pouring rain...

Monduran - points, plastics & pouring rain...

Left for Monduran on a rain soaked Sunday morning. Got as far as Forest Glen before we lost all trailer lights and dash & tail lights in the car due to a meltdown in the trailer plug....

Got going again after the RACQ fixed the problem but we were an hour or so later to Monduran than we planned. Arrived to hot and humid conditions and about a thousand boats on the water!

Straight up the system to area B for the rest of the morning and Bird Bay and Rainforest Bay for the afternoon. Not a swirl to be seen. Plenty of bait on the sounder but a complete absence of fish. Tried a variety of hard bodies and plastics for no interest whatsoever.

Monday was a much quieter day boatwise. Got up and headed up the system pre-dawn. Tried a likely point in North B. A small barra jumped next to a thick vertical tree so I threw my evil minnow there and BANG - I'm on! Reel is screaming as line is peeled off against a tight drag. Fish runs deep rather than to the surface unlike a barra but still tears line off at at a great rate. I start to get some line back and Kyle says "Are you sure it's a barra?". Finally I get it to the surface and it's the biggest, ugliest catfish I ever saw - all of 10kg. Check the size of the boga grips against the size of its head! Damn!

Nicked into Foxies at lunchtime after the trailer light repair. He said there were plenty of fish around but they were not committing. Lots of reports of taps, short strikes and whiting-like bites. I said "We'll get a pie for lunch then try again. What do you suggest?". He replied "Enjoy your pie!"..... Reports from other anglers backed this up and we only heard of two others that had caught fish over the last week.

Undaunted we set out again pre-dawn on Tuesday morning and headed straight to Bent Tree Point in South B. It was hot, dead still and storms were threatening. Bait was flicking, swirls and boofs everywhere. Third cast with a 110mm squidgy stunned mullet and Kyle is on! This fish gave a long fight with a few attempted aerials. Kyle backed off the drag as we were in open water and the fish was hooked deep (he lost a big fish to an abraded leader in December). After about 5 minutes I slid the net under a still fiesty 93cm beauty. She was hooked deep in the roof of the mouth and the leader was well abraded but still intact.

Kyle was using a brand new Berkley Dropshot Tournament 6'6" rod matched with a Daiwa Heartland 3000 spooled with 30lb Finns braid and 80lb Black Magic Supple Trace leader. A birthday pressie from me two weeks earlier that got a good christening! The point went quiet shortly after so we decided to move.

We headed down to Pepper Tree (or Nagg's tree, Termite tree or Pelican tree...call it whatever you like!) point. After I nailed three huge catfish on evil minnows I switched to a 110mm drop bear. A few casts later I got a hit. Within a split-second a couple of metres of line peeled off the reel, I struck and the fish spat the lure (or I missed) and it was all over. Checked the leader to see the telltale abrasion - damn and damn again!

Soon after the rain came down. Though we persisted for the rest of Tuesday and again on Wednesday morning we couldn't get another strike. We continued to get taps and nudges but we only caught catties and a few leftovers from others. Nagg - is the pictured plastic yours? I recognised the twisted leader......

Only one fish for the trip but we did avoid the donut. About to book again for April!!

Regs

Pete & Kyle

Re: Monduran - points, plastics & pouring rain...

Hey Pete and Kyle, good report and congrats to "the chosen one" u saved the day again Kyle.

Cheer's Pete.

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

That was a sneaky little trip Pete. Congrats to Kyle on his 93....a beaut way to christen the new outfit. That cattie is a colossus..........head like a robber's dog for sure.

Cheers and thanks for the comprehensive report. That HB certainly looks like a Nagg creation

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

G'Day Pete the Trout catcher.....Well done Kyle nice Barra to christen the new setup.....Thanks for the report Lads......HHhhmmm I wouldn't admit to owning the lure...it's badly set up (Squashed up a bit) maybe it's had a confrontation with a Barra...thats hot coming from me Donuts in the last 2 trips

great report and glad to hear you left some fish there this weekend

shane

Ausfish Platinum Member themissus's Avatar

Nice Pete!! Catty King!!
    Bet Kyle was pretty stoked to christen his new combo. Was he happy with how it performed?
    April.....you lucky bugger.
    Cheers Kim
    Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
    'Oh Shit.....she's awake'

Ausfish Platinum Member DEANO68's Avatar

Well done pete and kyle, good to see the rain didnt stop you catchn fish ..water looks a treat, looks like we will get a wet arse this weekend also..but beats the hell outa mowin the lawn and watchin telle....thanks for the update...

deano..
    God put me on earth to accomplish
    a certain number of things,
    right now i am so far behind
    i will never die.

Ditto. Well done fellas. nevermind the missed fish pete....did it wake you up?hehe.

cheers Roo.

Pete62 - yep, chosen one indeed. It was Kyle's call to fish this point.....

Big_Ren - Sneaky trip? I've been broadcasting it for weeks!

Whitto - trout catcher, that's me. The young fella has given me curry ever since. I keep telling him it's a team effort and the barra belongs to the boat not the angler!!

robersl - thanks Shane. Go get amongst 'em...

themissus - yes Kim, Kyle loves the new combo. We can't wait to get back there....

DEANO68 - cheers Deano, water quality was excellent. As clear as I've ever seen Mondy. Maybe this is why they are a bit timid on the bite? Even during a downpour fishin for barra beats anything!

Roo - it woke me up alright and recharged my enthusiasm (which had waned a little). We were a bit disappointed to only get the one on Tuesday morning as it was perfect conditions. Still, one is better than none!!

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Sorry Pete, been off the forum the last few weeks shifting house and a few other issues.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Ones allways better than none mate, but your gunna have to limit Kyle a bit.
    May I suggest when he is asleep, pulling off 15 meters of braid, then rubbing a meter against some concrete, I know its a dirty trick, but we cant have the crew out fish the skipper now can we!
    Good to hear about the cleaner water, thats got me thinking about another spot that doesnt begin with "B", I know theres some fish there, but its been like pea soup the last two times Ive looked in.
    Cheers for the report lads.

Yep thats one large catfish! bad luck on the missed fish Pete, and congrats to Kyle on the christening of the new gear!
    simon

The ocean is the ultimate solution - Frank Zappa

http://s428.photobucket.com/albums/qq9/slyman71/

Hey Pete,
    I love the way you said " WE " got off our doughnut.
    I know as long as the boat gets one eh!!! I wish i could sell that line to the boys.
    Congrats to Kyle

Hi Pete thanks for the report. I know of a group of 20 guys that went up last weekend and they only landed 2 fish over 4days between them all- hard going for others also. One of the guys who did land one, was on his sixth trip after 5 donuts. Your son getting a fish is the next best thing to you getting a fish. Well done Kyle. - Richard

At least you boated a nice fish,Peter. Message to self,if asked think carefully about a deckie spot with Brian or maintain close watch
    Paulo