Hit mondy Friday the 13th in the arvo for a long awaited session.
Had not been on mondy in about 18 months and boy is there ALOT more water now!!!!
Conditions were abysmal rain and wind in the 20kt+ range.....Not ideal condionts to try and break my Monduran curse. With 60 or more hours on the dam thus far for all of 2 touchs and one bust up history was not on my side!![]()
Running up the main basin hitting a couple of weed bed i had been told about for no result i decided to have a think about what i had read and heard about on aus fish and the recent video released on Monduran (great video a must see)
Grabbing the map out i picked a point that would have some wind/current running across it and the descion was made a move was in order.
Moved to the new location and scored a 64cm on the first drift past. Missed another bigger fish about 10mins later! Finally i had broken the monduran run of donuts!!!![]()
Both fish on the good old Barra clasic in Elton John...
Ok so not a big fish but its a monduran Barra and ill take it!
For me the best part was the fact that i had taken in what i have learned and put it into practice coming up with a result.
That one fish was it for the afternoon although i did have a few short strikes and a couple of decent bumps but the hooks never stuck.
We did plan on hitting the dam Saturday but with storms rolling through most of the day we didnt bother.
Sunday and we were back out at the dam abit later than we wanted due to no sleep and the fact we were both crook as dogs with a cold....
Hit the water right on sunrise and headed straight to a diffrent point we had looked at on the way home Friday arvo that has good shows of bait and the odd swirl. From about 200m out i dropped the leccy in and we crusied over to bait jumping every where and some rather large swirls. Within 10 minutes i had about 5 or so touches on a hollow belly but no hooks. From that point on the boats started racing around every where and the whole place shut down!!!!
We spent the next few hours checking out other likely looking spots and found a few great spots that should be awsome once the weather starts to cool.
So all in all a good weekend with limited fishing time. We spent 10 hours on the water for one fish and several touches so pretty happy with putting what we have learned into practice!
I have a few people to thank
Rod and Kim Thanks for the spots and the lend of the zillion! Did you want that back Rod? I mean i wouldn't want you to drop it over board mateWe will catchup in the coming week for lunch or soemthing.
Ben Cheers for all the help mate greatly apreciate it we did check out some of your spots but the boat traffic made them near on impossible to fish!!
Steve B Thanks for the updated info on the dam.
Joe