Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: silver things!!!

Re: silver things!!!

The Mozza and Ron show has been put on for us all to see.

Nice big silver thing with yellowish fins..................mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm I can feel a Barra coming on

Well done guys. Great reward for HOT effort.

Jeez,

An' I haven't had a chance to put my 2 bob's in yet and we're onto the 2nd page already.

Plenty of discussion about the 2 smaller ones - I think maybe they were salties heading upstream. Ron released his but I kept mine.

A couple of firsts on this trip: I now know that stiffy's really do work - as soon as
    I tried it I got hit after hit - nothing like seeing a big silver flash under your lure in the clearwater as you work it.

Ron's first barra on a toad - pity I had my head in a bucket of water but the boof was pretty good.

Just like the good ol' days in the NT fishing the runoff - find the floodwaters 'guttering' into the channels and you find the fish.

But @#$% it was HOT

Mozza

Hey Mozza,

How about APLINS and the bait collecting spot near your place. There is a small drain there......any barra lurking around there

yeah nice job Mozza, you'll have to show me your little rig one day, and show me how to use those toads, I had a feeling they would be a hit in the wet.

Definately looks like a solid little boat.

Thinking I might head over that way this weekend if nothing else is going.

Kev,

I'd wait until the water drops until the banks start to show then hit hit the spot. I have caught the odd barra in front of the drain when its flowing but hard to tell if the water coming has anything to do with it.

See, there'll be no mud herring or bony's coming in from the pipe so I don't think it has that much attraction. If the water's clearer then that might help your bait/lure getting hammered first.

Scott, there's bait everywhere on the flats in front of the mangroves but again, no barra - we bumped into a guy who'd fished the whole Cape area all day. The rocks, bays and mangroves for not a touch. Maybe the fish are still holding in the deeper holes - I dunno but certainly Ron's saltie was in a deeper section of Coco.

Mozza

Ron once you get one you cant stop hey mate. Good stuff i going saturday and sunday i reckon

Hey Mate is there still heaps of fresh in the creeks. Im heading up crocy sat but if there is still to much fresh might go to the cape. what do ya reckon cheers.

whcway,

yeah still to much fresh in the creeks, you need to get out on the flats.

well we had the barra for tea tonite, & all i can say is mmmmmmmmmm... it was a true salty for sure!!! mmmmmmm.

ron.
    reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

Thanks for the tip mate.

Good work fella's!!! Good to see some nice fish coming aboard!!!

Have GOT to get back out amongst it! Bugger work, I need to go fishing

I heard from a mate that the bay is giving up good sized prawns however no fish yet.

kev,
    there is some very big fingers & grunter around also.

ron.

Well done lads, im really keen to get my first legal barra this season.

Took Curmudgeon back up on Saturday.

Not a barra to be seen although we had a ball with Tarpon, ripping surface lures back from the guts of the turbulence below the barrage. They were doing somersaults in their efforts to hit the lures. It was sweet.

Mozza

pedrokkas,
    you should be out on the flats now! talking to 1 of the local tackle shops this morning he told me that he has been getting a few on live milkyfish.

ron.