Thread: Daiwa Opus Bull 4500

Daiwa Opus Bull 4500

Does anyone own a Daiwa Opus Bull 4500 spinning reel? I was thinking of getting one to use on a 10-15kg spin stick.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Daiwa Opus Bull 4500

the opus would be perfect for a 10-15kg rod. we have the same set up and it peforms verry nice, the drag is great and has heaps of cranking power. the only thing i dont like about them is the weight. they are verry heavy, but at least there tuff as guts. good by for the cash ya pay.
    figjam :wink:

Thanks nuggstar. I appreciate your feedback. They look OK to me but I thought I'd ask the question because they are inexpensive for a heavy duty spinning reel including a spare spool.

For the same money a Shimano TSS4 would be great. Not sure of the weight comparison but think the TSS4 would be lighter being graphite. Highly rated for a long time 10-15 kg is perfect for the reel. I think there would be quite a few users on here with them.

G'day mate!

Have an Opus Bull 6000. Use 30lb mono. Have caught Jewies up to 12kg on it with no bother. Drag great. Line capacity huge. Would suspect the smaller reel to be the same good value for money.

Two negative points:

The reel is very heavy for its size. Using the 6000 on a big spin rod is hard work. The smaller reel will be similarly heavy.

Design fault! The bail arm has a "join" where it attaches to the line roller. There is an angle between the arm and the spool. The line can catch here and, as with my reel, when you wind in it cuts through the bail arm. I discovered this when my line had cut in 1mm after 6 months fishing. The line now catches here every time I cast unless I manually pull the line into place when the bail arm clicks over after a cast. (I do this every time.)

How did this happen? I spin/lure fish at night and assumed that the arm had pulled the line onto the roller. Only discovered it when 30lb Platypus mono broke as it pulled through the cut.

If you can cope with this potential fault, a good reel.

Regards, Rob.
    Ballina.

Thanks for your response mate. I have read some negative reports about this very issue. I have other Daiwa reels and find them to be good performers so it puzzles me why a reputable company like Daiwa would not rectify this design fault. In your opinion is it possible to fill the join in the bail arm with some sort of epoxy (when the reel is new) to prevent the line from catching or in your case repair the groove cut by the line with solder?

Sent a pm mate but your post box is full.

Probably a good option to get the Bull, with the extra spool. When you are aware of a problem like the bail arm it's pretty easy to deal with.

Regards, Rob.

i think these are on special atm at bcf too, remember seeing them last week...
    I support catch and release fishing, Keeping the natives native

G'day mate!

Have an Opus Bull 6000. Use 30lb mono. Have caught Jewies up to 12kg on it with no bother. Drag great. Line capacity huge. Would suspect the smaller reel to be the same good value for money.

Two negative points:

The reel is very heavy for its size. Using the 6000 on a big spin rod is hard work. The smaller reel will be similarly heavy.

Design fault! The bail arm has a "join" where it attaches to the line roller. There is an angle between the arm and the spool. The line can catch here and, as with my reel, when you wind in it cuts through the bail arm. I discovered this when my line had cut in 1mm after 6 months fishing. The line now catches here every time I cast unless I manually pull the line into place when the bail arm clicks over after a cast. (I do this every time.)

How did this happen? I spin/lure fish at night and assumed that the arm had pulled the line onto the roller. Only discovered it when 30lb Platypus mono broke as it pulled through the cut.

If you can cope with this potential fault, a good reel.

Regards, Rob.
    Ballina.

Min has done the same mate. I tried to fix the gap but cant. It did it early in the piece too.
    Marty

Quote Originally Posted by diabolical View Post
    For the same money a Shimano TSS4 would be great. Not sure of the weight comparison but think the TSS4 would be lighter being graphite. Highly rated for a long time 10-15 kg is perfect for the reel. I think there would be quite a few users on here with them.
    quote=diabolical;968885]For the same money a Shimano TSS4 would be great. Not sure of the weight comparison but think the TSS4 would be lighter being graphite. Highly rated for a long time 10-15 kg is perfect for the reel. I think there would be quite a few users on here with them.[/quote]
    Hey mate the shimano tss4 would be te best reel for sure but they dont make them any more as they were not very popular in the american market.. They stopped nearlly 2 years ago.. damn it they were value for money for sure
    For another $45 you can get the daiwa sealine bull which i have yet to fault unlike the opus bull wit the line roller.. The best i have seen in price lately was at caloundra $105 on the opus at caloundra fishing world...

Shimano Speedmaster TSS4

Campbells in WA still have them for sale $169+freight.

Thanks diabolical stoked just bought the last 5 they had in stock.