something different at Mondy

Thread: something different at Mondy

something different at Mondy

I took at mate of mine to Mondy for his first time and my second. There were a lot of long faces at the boat ramp and the campground so didn't know what to expect.

So I guess we showed the fish something a little different, we only fished Fly for about a total of 6 hours over Saturday morning/ arvo and Sunday morning for four fish boated. My mate got to feel a a tractor but couldn't turn it, they are pretty tough to turn on the fly rod. We dropped a couple of fish and got a couple of catamundi's. It has been the firts time I have been to this dam with no conventional gear, they seemed to really like the fly. there were a couple of rats (56,58 cm) but also a couple of fun ones ( 87 , 96 cm)

Federation of Fly Fishers
    International Certified Casting Instructor
    Sunshine Coast Fly Fishers
    www.saltwaterflyfishers.org

Re: something different at Mondy

FF,

Thanks for the report. You are fishing down an avenue that I want to try this year. Would be a great feeling hooking a barra on fly. Congrats on the trip, my hat bows for you

Chers

Thanks Matt, They are a difficult Fly target but well worth the effort I reckon. Good luck with targeting them mate.

Hi flyfisho ,Saw u up the dam on the weekend fishing out of katana? Conggats on ur sucess, Saw u early sat morning in b bay then sun morning around 9am fishing weed lined grassy bank in c bay. did u do ok in these areas? We must now b major share holders in the crispy cream comp.

Hi flyfisho,great work on fly. Hey can you just give a quick run down of gear leader etc. Im planning an assault with a 10 wt with both a floating and sinking line.
    cheers chewy

Quote Originally Posted by STIFFWORM View Post
    Hi flyfisho ,Saw u up the dam on the weekend fishing out of katana? Conggats on ur sucess, Saw u early sat morning in b bay then sun morning around 9am fishing weed lined grassy bank in c bay. did u do ok in these areas? We must now b major share holders in the crispy cream comp.

Hey SW , that was a mate of mine in Katana , I have the same boat different name. We were in a shallow bay in the basin just hitting weed edges. I can only imagine what you mean about the crispy cream comp , Squiz and Stu always have a full esky on board , no point in roughing it .

Quote Originally Posted by chewy01 View Post
    Hi flyfisho,great work on fly. Hey can you just give a quick run down of gear leader etc. Im planning an assault with a 10 wt with both a floating and sinking line.
    cheers chewy
    No worries Chewy,
    I was using a straight through rod length 60 lb Black magic leader, on a GLX 12wt, the line was a Scientific Angler Tarpon intermediate line. I reckon a floater will work as well , and depending on the conditions (were the fish are holding) a fast sink will work. As far as fly selection, I went back to basics with a olive over white deceiver ,they are a lot easier to cast and suspend with heaps of movement because of the natural materials.
    good luck with the assault mate.

Thanks mate for the help,i took it up a couple weeks ago,had it in the t all day saturday,never sighted a fish.Left it in the car sunday(doh) and arrived at spot x to see fish tailing,ended up with a good sesh.always yhe way,but next time i might just leave the other gear at home.
    thanks again chewy..

Chewy, its the only way to target them on Fly, its is hard work (physically) and combined with the usual mind games of impoundment Barra, is difficult to stick with, I have reverted back to plastics when confidence is dwindling, but leaving the bait caster at home kind of ruled that out. Also not being on Trevor's boat and watching him brain them on plastics helps as well

Great catch fly fisher well done

Shane

Ausfish Platinum Member Awoonga's Avatar

Chris...Good work bloke.... persistance pays off... but the metery must come from Awoonga .... And this year it will happen...Talk soon

We must now b major share holders in the crispy cream comp.
    Just clicked very funny

Yes Trev it has too

les you check ya bt to see if its got a old banna skin hidden some where
    dont give up keep trying

My hats off to you gentlemen, great looking fish useing a style that really challanges, no doubt about that.
    Great stuff.
    brian

Good stuff and great fish. Will be having a go with the long wand at Awoonga in a couple of weeks.