2009 Toyota Fraser Island Fishing Expo - Page 9
Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst 1234567891011 LastLast

Thread: 2009 Toyota Fraser Island Fishing Expo

Re: 2009 Toyota Fraser Island Fishing Expo

anyone know how the track is that goes right up the guts of the island to orchid beach? several tracks from the western side lead to it.
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

Ausfish Platinum Member Mr__Bean's Avatar

Looks like you need a bobcat!!

- Darren

Grader, Scraper, Bobcat, plough and any other form of earthmoving equipment going ahead of you and you'll be sweet going the inside Heath,...

Towing a boat inland from Hook to Orchid is a 10 hour trip.... maybe 9.

I am off to Fraser bright and early this Friday morning with low tide about 1pm.
    Heaps of time so there is no rush.
    With a group towing a boat, a van and a camping trailer.
    Good luck to everyone going up there and stay safe.
    Might meet up there with a few of you.
    Like a lot of others, I will be on UHF 20.
    Graham.

Well I have now driven from hook point to orchid beach. Today went from happy valley to waddy point. If you all head on the low tide you will not have any issues at all. The beach is fine. The poyungun bypass is a bit rugged on the southern side, and the same rock as usual on the northern side. I doubt you can pass poyungun without going to bypass, but may be possible on dead low. Poyungun is the only place that may cause greif, but a couple of blocks of wood in the back will solve that problem.

Yidney rocks is only passable via the bypass. Yidney to happy vally is no problem via the beach on low tide, probably 2-3 hours either side. the bypass from yidney to happy valley is in good nick. In the week I have been here so far the tides have dumped heaps of sand onto yidney rocks.

McLauglan and Chard rocks are easily passable on the low tide. On the very high tide chard rocks might be a bit tough, but other than that it will be no issues at all.

From chard to indian head is all good. Indian head is very good at the moment. You could almost cross it in 2wd its that good. Indian head to waddy and orchid is pretty standard fare, but if you have towed a boat up there before then you will know what to expect. No different to usual.

So if you head up on dead low tide, then I would expect that you will have no issues. The beach is certainly in much better condition than the inland tracks. You will have more greif inland than via the beach. I have taken photo's, but I dont have my camera cable here, so cant upload them. Will do so when I get back to brisbane.

as Lucky_Phill has said in the Agnes Water M&G I will be running an Australian flag on my Nissan GQ aerial and the 4.75m Blue Fin boat Good SPOT aerial

now madly packing everything into the car and boat for the early leave Sat morn

cheers Murf

I am leaving in the morning to set up a camp and the boys will stay and I will be back again Thurs morn. I will put a report up of my travels when I get back. FYI I will be at the barges about 9am with the red patrol ute and a camper trailer, should hear me if you cant see me. Good luck in your travels to those also heading up. To confirm, first opening night of the comp we could meet at the Toyota Hilux they are giving away say at 7pm for a chin wag. My number up there will be 0448 833 117. Look forward to meeting some of you guys.

Marty

Ok, some pics now! This is poyungun rocks, by far the worst part of the journey. My stock height d40 navara made it up there no problems.

This is happy vally and yidney rocks. The first 2 pics 6292 and 6293 are looking south from happy vally entrance toward yidney rocks. Pic 6294 is after the rock at happy valley but before the yidney rock bypass. Pic 6296 is looking north toward the yidney rock bypass.

The last pics a chard rocks and McLaughlan. 30011 is chard rocks, as you can see a non issue. This was maybe an 1 hour on the incoming tide. The next pic shows some cars crossing through the track in the middle, it is all sand. Last pic 30018 is of McLaughlan.

It is possible to pass chard and McLauglan on higher tides, just a bit rougher. I never did it so I cant comment.

IF you want any more pics etc send me a pm. Got a couple of the high tide track around chard and mclaughlan rocks. Got no pics north of chard to orchid as it is no different to usual (same this time last year).

Hello Fellas,
    I just got back from setting up at Fraser. The beach is good except travel on low tide. I did the run home from Waddy this morning on the high and got all the way to the high tide barge track with no problems. Use all bypass routes at headlands. The only area that would need a snatch is the ramp up to champagne rock pools. I found it a little struggle with the ute and camper on back but got up with no assistance.
    IMPORTANT- If you book and pay for the White bardge at the shell servo at Rainbow you get a discount . It costs $50 per car and $100 car and boat/trailer instead of $90 per car and $150 boat trailer.
    I am heading up early on Thursday again. Lots of people up there already. Waddy beach not passable on high tide you will be camp stricken unless you own a submarine. Great feeling to be up there cant wait till Thursday.

Marty

Hi Marty,
    How are the rocks north of Happy Valley? Was the drop off still there?

Is the gutter getting any deeper at Waddy Point?

Glen

Hello Glen,
    The drop off north of happy valley was there but it is not a problem at all. Its only a small step up. I didnt get to see the gutter at Waddy as I set up in the arvo and left in the dark. Looking at it from a few k's it is not that noticeable. The beach is relatively"flat " and therefore the tides are washing right up. Much of the beach is impassable on high tide.

Marty

Thanks for the update,