Is that opposite the ' backtal ' dune ?
so when will be the catch for a drink day, for all ausfish members. I'll be camping in the group site at waddy ground
michael
No reason why we cant maybe meet each other up at the comp site in the evening???
Marty
Yeah that sounds good. Maybe on the first night of the comp and have a few beers that way you can say " I know that bloke" when I go to pick up the keys to the hilux!!
Marty![]()
sounds like a plan for the 1st night. I'll set UHF to 20 maybe that can be the dedicated Ausfish car channel?
michael
Hi all, this will be my 16t fraser comp, we stay in the Waddy Lodge main house which is just north of the Waddy point beach camp ground, driveway is between the high tide track ramp and the rubbish transfer station to the north of Waddy beach. Some ausfish members have parked their boats in front of our house as we can often keep an eye and ear out at night on the boats. We will have vehicle UHF on ch 20, and our little 4.6mt boat is called Bri-ann. Please call into the house if you need any paramedic assistance, turn right at the top of the driveway. My mobile is 0408848564. We will be going up on Sat 9th May and leaving Sat 23rd after the comp. Call in for a beverage if it's windy, stay safe. cheers Kev.
If anyone is after a new esky for the comp, I have a mate who has a couple for sale.
Ring him for any details.
His details are:
Ross 0438 077 039
300 ltr $495 1.3L X .64W X .60H
155 ltr $280 .97L X .52W X .55H
110ltr $195 .92L X .43W X .50H
![]()
I work on the rescue helicopter as the paramedic and I was over on the island again today for another 4x4 accident, for those people who haven't travelled the beach before, the rocks that are usually covered by 10 feet of sand allowing you to do 80kmphr are now 4 feet above the sand and fully exposed! The rocks around Happy valley and up to Eli creek, Yindey, Chards and McKensies rocks, are not passable with more than half tide in. Some single vehicles are making it over, but if you are towing a low axle trailer, and it is not close to low tide, you will have to drive over the rocks! Danger danger to springs and your rigs. Please take a bit extra time to plan your drive up the main beach, as you don't want to get wedged on the coffee rocks or have an accident on them. Night time driving on the beach will need to be done slowly slowly. The coffee rock is very hard to see at night time, and before you know it you will be ontop of it. The beach has a 3-10 foot cliff on the island side of the main beach up most of the northern end, with wash outs moving each day. My message, please take care on your way to and from the expo. cheers kev.
Looks like I am heading up now, with some contractors whom do work for me...
Fishing beach "Unless anyone has spot in boat for me" and camping on a block of land at Orchid .. Have been told we will be eating at comp everynight so might see yous there,,,
This backs up what marvin has said:
Here is a photo taken during the week of Chard rocks about 2kms south of Eli Creek, that are exposed and may be difficult to traverse if you have not got good clearance.
Lets hope that the tides cover the rocks in sand before the comp.
This photo was emailed to me last week and I have been asked to post a pic on the site by a couple of members.
I hope the owner of the photo does not mind me posting the pic.
Here is the latest beach reports from Fraser:
Exposed Rocks on Eastern Beaches
This alert is valid from : 09-04-2009 to: 20-04-2009 (inclusive)
Page generated on : Thu Apr 16 11:47:24 2009
Visitors and tour operators are advised to expect poor beach conditions on the Eastern Beach of Fraser Island due to exposed rocks, including the areas listed below. All drivers are strongly advised to exercise extreme caution when traversing these areas. Drivers should drive to tide and beach conditions at all times and be aware of changing conditions due to weather and swells.
Road closed: Ngkala Rocks bypass impassable
Ngkala Rocks bypass has steep drop-offs due to recent high tides, making the road impassable. Do not use the Ngkala Rocks bypass.
North of Happy Valley - McLaughlan & Chard Rocks
McLaughlan Rocks and Chard rocks are exposed and may be difficult to traverse.
South of Happy Valley – Yidney Rocks are exposed
Rocks between the northern Yidney bypass track and Happy Valley are exposed and may be difficult to traverse. The alternative route from the Yidney Rocks bypass direct to Happy Valley can be used.
Poyungan Rocks Beach
Poyungan Rocks and the associated bypass are open. However, due to exposed rocks, traverse with extreme caution.
Glad the Nissan has heavy duty side steps and heaps of clearance.
Graham.
![]()
![]()
![]()
I can't go, but why not have all Ausfish members have a Yellow ( or other colour) tape around an arm whilst on land.. that way you can spot / help / rib Ausfish members at will !!!! Elect tape is cheap !!!!
OR...... purchase an Ausfish Shirt, cap beanie or stricker.