2009 Toyota Fraser Island Fishing Expo - Page 3
Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 1234567891011 LastLast

Thread: 2009 Toyota Fraser Island Fishing Expo

Re: 2009 Toyota Fraser Island Fishing Expo

Heading to fraser for my first classic and I am chomping at the bit. I will be towing my boat up and hopefully have accomadation in the XXXX house(plenty of beer). I will need a good day to get out as I only have a 4.5 m boat but I have fished plenty offshore out of it (up to40ks out) and I am very experienced so all I need is the weather gods to be nice for a change and give us a couple of good days. Very keen to meet some ausfishers. Keep the info comming guys as I need all the help I can get.Only 97 days to go but whos counting. YEEHA can't wait........

Yeah,
    Would not miss it...
    Be good to catch up with you again Murf.
    Lets hope the weather is a bit better...

For those of you that are going for the first time, or if you just want to remember last year, here is a link to a posting that I did when I got back from last year.
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=131795

See you all up there..
    Graham.

yeah Graham we enjoyed every bit of the adventure even getting smashed by the wind and rain and having to leave 2 days early haha

thats one of the great things about this comp is how everyone helps everyone its just has to be experienced to be believed

cheers Murf

At least the DVD for last year was a little better.....

Graham.

Hey Fellas, I have attached a link to a clip I put on youtube to try and show you guys what the gutter was like last year. It is a bit of a long clip but it shows the gutter, the conditions and us launching the boat. We had some minor problems at first as we had the boat off the winch with chain on only and when we went to move we moved her onto the chain and had to try again. This obviously attracted the 9WIN camera. Anyway nothing too exciting but shows what its all about. Oh yeah one of my mates brought up his cousin from the country as you can see, and it was their job to launch it off. This also gave the camera guy a good laugh and egged on more jokes to stuff the boys up.
    For those wondering this was with a 3m extension too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D62wnW9e_Tg

Cheers Marty

hahahahaha Marty says Murf the 2006 clown (we got the clown of the week award for dropping the boat on the track in front of a 1000 people at the footy day )

Murf, I am sorry mate but I gotta laugh. I could imagine it now!!!

Hi Captain Seaweed,
    Looking at my first trip with the boat this year, i am starting to get things

Would you say a 5m extension draw bar be better?

thanks,

I think 3m is as long as you want. 5 metre is pretty long.

Quote Originally Posted by Fish_Two View Post
    Hi Captain Seaweed,
    Looking at my first trip with the boat this year, i am starting to get things

Would you say a 5m extension draw bar be better?

thanks,
    what size boat?

5m extension is too long IMO

cheers Murf

another thing to remember is when you have retrieved you boat, dont just get out and do the checklist thing, like u would at the boat ramp, for this causes problems for other people getting there boats out as well.
    Go up the beach, out of the main traffic, and secure ur boat there, for sometimes there is 200 boats trying to launch on a patch of beach that is about 1 km long, and at times only 50 mtrs wide.

Will be there with 2 boats and crew, camping up in the waddy camping area

Michael

Well I havnt met too many people on here. Maybe we could choose a day and meet up on the beach in the arvo and have a few beers and maybe tee up a trip out the following day? I will be camping next to seamac on Waddy beach. Who would be interested to meet up? I am happy to pick a day as it gets closer and the beach is always a good place? or camp? any suggestions ???

Marty

haha pick a windy day with a windy day following

Murf

Quote Originally Posted by murf View Post
    hahahahaha Marty says Murf the 2006 clown (we got the clown of the week award for dropping the boat on the track in front of a 1000 people at the footy day )
    Hey Murf that made for some of the funniest footage I have ever seen and you handled it brillantly. Does that bloke still speak to you