2009 Toyota Fraser Island Fishing Expo
Page 1 of 11 12345678910 ... LastLast

Thread: 2009 Toyota Fraser Island Fishing Expo

2009 Toyota Fraser Island Fishing Expo

Hello Folks, Yes it seems a little early but I am getting excited about this event already. Anyone thinking of going this year? I will be heading up with a group of around 12 again and cant wait! Thought I may start the thread and maybe give people time to organise an Ausfish day there?
    Marty

Re: 2009 Toyota Fraser Island Fishing Expo

G'day Marty, I'm Going With A Crew Of 13 With 2 Boats .have Already Started Organising The Trip. Will Catch Up With You Blokes Again. Thank's Mac...

Cant wait Macca!

We will be there as well as always , see you there .
    Sam...

Hey Sam

looks like you will have "the trouble" staying with you this year !
    Im sure you will teach them a thing or 2.

Joe

Yeh Joe , should be a fun time .
    Are you in the crew ?

Quote Originally Posted by SEA-MAC View Post
    G'day Marty, I'm Going With A Crew Of 13 With 2 Boats .have Already Started Organising The Trip. Will Catch Up With You Blokes Again. Thank's Mac...

Just wondering how the logistics of 13 people and 2 boats goes. We may be doing it this year as Timi-Boy is keen as to take his CC up.

Do you alternate and only get out each second day? Would suck if bad weather and you only have half the fishing days and only got out once or twice.

You bet I am.

Cheech, we'll have to get together and start planning this. We will also need some extra folks of course, so we will have to start recruiting, unless we can join up with another group?

I figure we'll need five or six people, if the fishing's intense, I can't see everyone wanting to fish every day...

Let's talk!

Oh, when is it???

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Quote Originally Posted by Cheech View Post
    Just wondering how the logistics of 13 people and 2 boats goes. We may be doing it this year as Timi-Boy is keen as to take his CC up.

Do you alternate and only get out each second day? Would suck if bad weather and you only have half the fishing days and only got out once or twice.

G'DAY CHEECH, YEH WE ALTERNATE .MOST ARE KEEN TO GET OUT AS MUCH AS THEY CAN BUT SOME LIKE A BREAK.PLUS WE HAVE 2 BLOKES THAT ONLY BEACH FISH. THANKS MAC..

Marty,

Good thread to start, I'm hoping get up there with Timiboy and his crew if I can make the grade. It would be really helpful if you old hands at this, could pass on some of your experience as to what to expect, and a few tips to us green horns going there.
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

Quote Originally Posted by tropicrows View Post
    Marty,

Good thread to start, I'm hoping get up there with Timiboy and his crew if I can make the grade. It would be really helpful if you old hands at this, could pass on some of your experience as to what to expect, and a few tips to us green horns going there.
    I havnt done the comp or towed a big boat up the island for a few years now but what I think are the most important points, be very well prepared, very patient and leave heaps more time than you need for getting big boats up the beach and over the hill, things go wrong, trailers and vehicles can and do break so you must plan for this otherwise you'll end up turning a wonderful adventure into a pain in the bum
    enjoy - Craig

Quote Originally Posted by sempre View Post
    Yeh Joe , should be a fun time .
    Are you in the crew ?
    Sam at this stage im 50/50.
    Im starting a project this month so i hope it is at a point where i can get away.

Team Champion might not be there Dave is going to Germany to visit his in-laws-to-be & Michael has some Massive jobs on the go.

Leo is already planning his outfit for "The Cape" ..... it is non stop shit when he is around.

The little punks wont know what hit them staying with You Boys !!

joe

Well for those that want to know. I have done 3 Fraser Comps and towed the boat to last years for the first time. I started a post last year as I wanted to get all the info I could before taking my boat up. I didnt want to look someone who wasnt prepared, gets in trouble then looks around to everyone else for help. Things I have learnt.
    -Go prepared. Make sure the car, boat and trailer are in good condition to be towed a bit of a distance up the beach.eg if you know the wheel bearings need doing then do them. The trailers do experience a little more load with all the bumps than on the road and are subject to different knocks and jars. Something I was worried about with the Seafarer. So I did the bearings, replaced worn tyres and made sure boat was tied down and ready for some rougher riding. Turns out it wasnt that hard to get it there and conditions were quite good both for towing and beach launching.
    -Make sure the vehicle is prepared for the trip and have recovery gear ready and accessible. Prepare to get bogged and run through in your head and with your mates what the plan of action will be if or when it happens. Nothing worse than trying to find a tow point when your burried in sand.
    -Have a tow vehicle follow the boat up. Make sure the tow vehicle is also in a condition to perform. Light tinnies will be ok but if the sand gets thick and there hasnt been much rain it can be a challenge getting around Indian Head. In thicker sand follow other well worn ruts dont attempt to make your own track through the thick stuff.
    -There are a lot of boats heading up. Everyone is going to the same place, show courtesy to other people. It may be easy to get frustrated with a slower person in front, due to the excitement of the trip but remember that person might be the one pulling you out of the poop over the next week.

Okay so you finally get there.
    -I recommend parking boat straight up with all other boats next to the gutter. Unless you already know where you will be camping and have a destination in place. I found it easier to drive my empty ute from camp and hook boat up next to gutter, rather than towing all the way to camp.The boats have been safe there in the past and I have never heard of thievery, even still I take all valuables with me.
    -Watch how people launch boats into the gutter and find the quietest part to launch and retrieve cos if its high tide in the arvo you will get small waves wash over the bar and make loading ht e boat back on a pain. I have noticed if you launch right at the end of the gutter the water is very shallow but it is more pretected.
    -Log on with VMR, wear safety gear and be prepared to be inspected upon return for fish and safety gear.
    -Be prepared to launch and retrieve, have a plan in place and a what to do if ..in place. If not I will look forward to seeing you on the nights woopsys on the big screen!!!

A little long winded but a quicker summary of my 5 cents worth.

All in all this is by far one of the best weeks of the year. It is great fishing, great commeradery and a great experience. You will meet top people there and leave home with a grin from ear to ear and a vow to return the following year....provided you were prepared.

Marty

When at camp there are buses that pick people up from the beach and take you to the comp/venue site for all the action of the day so that you arnt tempted to drinkand drive(courtesy of the comp). Here you will find all the prizes, bars.food. fish weighed in , sponsors stands and a heap of other people all smiling from ear to ear cos they made it up one more year. I cant really upsell it anymore and for once you can believe when I say you wont regret it and you will have a ball.
    Marty

Spot on mate , if your going for the first time take note of what has just been said .
    Sam...