Thread: Gold coast Lure Fishing

Gold coast Lure Fishing

Removed....

Re: Gold coast Lure Fishing

G'day mate.
    I fish the gold coast regularly, and there are thousands of spots where you'll catch fish. Basically any jetty / bridge / pontoon /rock wall will hold bream, and most sand flats (they are everywhere) have flatties. First place I'd try is under a few bridges.

The main problem I had when I was land based was getting HB lures into good areas. I had some success fishing from rock walls, and retrieving the lures (hard bodies like sx40) parallel with the wall so it dives and swims along the length of the wall. This gets it deeper amongst the rocks where the fish hang out.
    Also, your hard body lures are a good selection and I have the same ones. Throw the switchblades at bridge pylons and let them sink before retrieving. They also catch whiting and flathead on sand flats.

I find that SP's are much easier land based, because they cast further. Try about 3" plastics (minnows or prawns) on a 1/8 oz jighead (or 1/4oz for further casting). There's tons of info on here about retrieving plastics - just make sure you let the lure sink to the bottom before retrieving.

I'm not a trevally catcher, sorry.

Good luck

Removed...

There are plenty of spots , Ive lived on Goldy all my life mostly northern end so here are a few spots. Carpark opposite seaworld has sandy banks that lead to a deep drop off , this is where they flush out the dirty water from their tanks etc...High tide best. Eastern side of isle of capri bridge there is an old boat with a fake woman on it plenty of trees and fallen debree in that area.Any tide. Northern side of Monaco St bridge high tide under bridge. Give us a pm for more. Hope this helps as sp fishing can be very enjoyable it just takes a lot of patience.
    Gold Coast , Queensland. Paradise!

Removed....

Hi mate. Try taly creek. It offers heaps of opportunities walking around the waters edge casting. Try 2" gulp sandwrms (should yield some bream and witting) ligtly weighted pref in a hiden weight. If your chasing flaties go heavier in the weight in 3" minnows or prawn profiles say 1/12.

Another tip is go early as the fish will be on and less boating trafic and swimmers.

All the best. Jerry.
    "A bad day of fishing is better than a good day at work"

G'day mate,

I like the incoming tide for trevs and tailor in the seaway. I use smaller metals 15-25g.

20g Prickley Petes get a lot of hits.

Removed....

THe seaway (for me anyway) can be hit and miss. You can throw slugs around for travs and tt metal lures for the odd bream and travally. The mouth can have tough conditions ie swell and soaring currents and winds. With sp's go little heavier.

If conditions are tuff go to the seaways estuary systems (mostly sand) and try the old 2" sand worm for bream and witing. Also there will be flathead around and you should get them on the odd heavier riged prawn, minow profiles or deaper diving hb (try white/pink).

Good luck. Let me know how you go.
    "A bad day of fishing is better than a good day at work"

Removed...