Bread, under a float, The thing to do is to put it right into the snags, less turtles that way.
wow i went there saturday arvo and no luck.. caught 3 turtles... what bait were u using?
Bread, under a float, The thing to do is to put it right into the snags, less turtles that way.
I Fish, I catch, I SNAG
Hi went there for a second time this morning 7:30am. Rained on an off for the couple of hours we were there. Only managed to catch 3 turtles during that time. Some birdwatching lady gave me the Sh*** when i went to remove the hook from the first one. Clueless woman thought we were going to keep them and were deliberatly targeting them untill i told her otherwise in a very unpolite manner. stupid pretentious *****.
Another couple of people came by after a while and while we were there they landed two eels in around 15 min. We left at around 930 as the rain was driving us nuts.
Yeah, the rain really seems to turn the tili's off.
We had a lady rip into us when we landed a turtle, crazy woman didn't seem to realize we were just getting the hook out.
I Fish, I catch, I SNAG
Went back on saturday and got this 45cm one.
I Fish, I catch, I SNAG
Other than not fishing there - what is the best way to avoid catching turtles?
I took the kids down on Sunday and all we caught were turtles.
When I was away from the kids, they removed the hook from a little turtle. When I came back the poor little bugger was dripping blood from his mouth.
I went crook at the kids, as I'd told them not to remove any hooks unless they were just pinned in the corner of the mouth.
After a couple of hours I couldn't stand the guilt of catching turtles and went home.
we have the same problems sometimes. Luckily though we have learn't what is a turtle bite, and what is a non-turtle bite. If we hook a turtle we generally flick the bail arm open for about 5 secs then try and reef the hook out.
If you do hook one, the easiest thing to do to unhook it is to lay it on its back so it can't move, then get the hook out.
I Fish, I catch, I SNAG
What type and size of hooks are you using Snags?
I was using long shanked size 1s. I molded the dough up the shaft of the hook and the turtles seemed to all swallow it deeply.
I suspended the hooks about 400 - 500mm below pencil floats.
I also had a bottom rig.
Both rigs achieved only turtles.
Not much chance of removing the hooks without severe damage to the turtle.
Perhaps if I flattened the barbs?
Cheers, Ross.
We used the smallest hooks we could find, and had them about 50mm-60mm from the float. Where wear you casting? we found that the open water will get you alot of turtles, while if you put it in closer to the snags you'll get more Tili's.
I Fish, I catch, I SNAG
I was fishing out in the open area right in front of the deck area.
Next time I will try a bubble float and size 12 long shanks fished in the snags about 60mm below the float.
Yeah that's the go Sea, don't go to close to the snags though as many are submerged and you'll get snagged quite easily. Also if you can get hold of some live garden worms they'd work a treat, the afternoon is the best time. We usually see huge schools of around 150 fish just cruising past all around the 10cm mark but beneath them there are the big 40cm ones.
Tom
Well done boys - certainly doing your bit for the ecosystem and having a ball at the same time.
Keep up the great work.
Little Grey Men - good advice about crashing barbs, was about to mention it myself. Surpirinsly, you won't loose many fish and as takes some of the guilt away from catching those turtles - lucky they not ninja turtles or you'd be wearing nunchucks by now .