FNQ Meet & Greet Queens B'day Long Weekend @ Cardwell - Page 2
Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Thread: FNQ Meet & Greet Queens B'day Long Weekend @ Cardwell

Ausfish Platinum Member levinge's Avatar

Re: FNQ Meet & Greet Queens B'day Long Weekend @ Cardwell

Quote Originally Posted by FNQCairns View Post
    At the first M&G we stayed at a cara park (forget the name) that's the first on the left hand side heading south, if it's still the same it has a water view licenced alfresco area, cabins, unit accom, and something more backpacker/worker style accom and of coarse camping also lots of room to park boat and car.
    Was nice sitting out the front with a view straight out at the water. The units also have water views.

The great thing about a Cardwell M&G is the area is open to not only those with reef boats, 12 footers can have a ball in the channel. Lucinda even more so, but the cara park at that time of year is standing room only.

I think thats the Beachcomber Motel and Tourist Park, have stayed there before and it has alot to offer, not to mention plenty of room to park the boats.

I will be booking in there myself.

If you want to have a look -
    Fillet and Release Squad

Yeah it's a roomy park and you have fisherman style units or the flasher ones at the front.At the moment i'm working that weekend but i'll try and change that.

Gee
    I hope it stops raining before June.
    Chappy

A relatively new Ausfisher but definitely keen to pack the wife up and go, work dependent.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post

BUT...I won't head up near El Arish..I hear the locals are a bit odd there!!!!!!

(ya think he will say anything about that comment??? )
    Geez Greg...just wait till you meet the local ausfishers from Townsville....odd doesnt even begin to describe them....

Nice bunch of blokes but you really do have to be a little strange to live in that town....

Hey Scott, don't start throwing stones, you'll have to do too much diving to get to them at the moment.

The only odd thing is our dedication to travel 90+ NM round trips to go reef fishing.

Mind you, I like your oddness, taking unsuspecting foreigners out on ya boat, now I know why you don't make your own berley, they bring it for you and dispense it as well.

By the way, have you had to put the boat in to go get the bread and milk????
    Fillet and Release Squad

Yeah Brett, bit wet isnt it?..Seems Tully is all out of dunny paper...Which hand am I supposed to use to wash my arse?

I do feel a bit sorry for you guys that its such a long hike to the reef down there...sounds like once the wet is over you might have to give the Formosa an overnighter or 2 to make the most of having to travel so far....I love having 2 days out there ,even here, just because it gives time to explore more territory..more tide change periods and of course more time to fill the esky....

Ive taken quite a few people of different nationalities to the reef over the last 4-5 years and have had some fantastic experiences but that one that I did the report on (with the sick Korean girl..she swore that she had been to sea with her father many times with no seasickness and would not take any tablets)was not much fun and I compounded it by deciding to fish within 5km's from the edge of the shelf with a big groundswell 2m+ and no protective reef.......thats what made them crook...took one aussie wwoofer one day to Little Otter Reef(not far from the Lady Bowen) and a front came through earlier than expected (only there an hour)and I was barely able to stand up let alone fish but as luck had it the spanish were schooling under the boat and I had to pull this guy away from his desperate attempt to sh!t and spew simultaneously over the side without ending up in the drink..just to pull in spanish in a double hook up situation...by the time we got 5 landed he was cactus and it was getting a bit dangerous...only time Ive left due to weather...should have seen the look on his face as we surfed down the face of the waves on the long trip home..

Overall though I've had some great experiences watching people who have never caught a fish longer than 30 cm before hook up to trout, nannies,cod,spanish,tuna etc(and they almost always love to catch a shark for some reason)...however when they may only be here for a short period, sometimes to fit in a trip I have to go in sometimes unfavorable weather....

If its really just way too rough these days I just take them crabbing and croc spotting down the river in the tinny...

Looking forward to a run around the Hinchinbrook area ..even if its blowing its tits off we can still throw out a few pots and wet a line in Missionary bay and maybe duck around the corner to Eva Rock...

Ps ..Sorry for the ramble but I just thought I had better clarify that I dont actually take people to sea just to make them sick....

Yeah I know, I was just baiting the crab pot, seems to be the only fishing I'm doing at the moment.

I haven't done an overnighter, but it is on the list, just have to get my act together and organise it with one of the other boats down here. Better to be out there with someone else, safety in numbers stuff. Might talk Alchemy and Nic into a run out. Just have to talk my "gun fisho Lynne" into going out too. She's not too keen on night fishing.
    Fillet and Release Squad

I'm with Lynne, I'm not a massive fan of fishing through the night either as the photos don't look very good (comparatively speaking).

I do like fishing into the early evening though, followed by hot dinner and a sleep (enjoying the gentle rocking and sound of water against the hull) and then getting up to fish at first light. It doesn't get much better than that, I reckon.

Don't know when we'll get out again on the big boat though... I wonder if the catties and sharks would be prowling the reefs ATM?

Hey Nic,
    If the rains hold out i will probably be heading out crabbing and chasing barra this weekend

Matt, I gotta work Friday Night, but if the weather breaks I might go for a fish, not confident, but getting touchy and just a little jumpy. I want to blood the new rig (once again evil laughter follows)!!!!!!!
    Fillet and Release Squad

I'm planning to be in. Hopefully if weather is fine I could tie up to another boat for an overnighter. The ol' open runabout is not without spookiness on its own at night if too far from shore. I wasn't cut out of Cooky's mold. Those who went to Taylors Beach M&G will recall what i mean.
    I'll see what the fuel/money equation is before deciding to take the boat but would love to stand in line if someone needs a hand.
    I think I owe a couple of blokes some favours from that TB M&G.
    Any fishing is good fishing (should probably say Any fishing is...probably going to be illegal soon)

Quote Originally Posted by levinge View Post
    Yeah I know, I was just baiting the crab pot, seems to be the only fishing I'm doing at the moment.

I haven't done an overnighter, but it is on the list, just have to get my act together and organise it with one of the other boats down here. Better to be out there with someone else, safety in numbers stuff. Might talk Alchemy and Nic into a run out. Just have to talk my "gun fisho Lynne" into going out too. She's not too keen on night fishing.
    G'day Brett,

Not sure when the next ovenighter will be but will let you know. I think I'll wait till the fresh clears and the debris sinks, hopefully

So far as overnighters off Cardwell... there is some good anchoring around Otter reef or you can run back in behind the Brooks or the top of Hinchinbrook depending on wind direction.

The NQ Sportfishing championships are always on the QB weekend at Cardwell. So, if you want to see some good fish, the weighin is at the Cardwell sportfishing clubhouse, at about 12 on Sunday.

Bill

Quote Originally Posted by Swamp View Post

The NQ Sportfishing championships are always on the QB weekend at Cardwell. So, if you want to see some good fish, the weighin is at the Cardwell sportfishing clubhouse, at about 12 on Sunday.

Bill
    hey bill
    hopfully to see some good fish all we need to do is look in our esky's .
    but yes it would be worth the look.