Thread: Jacks and fresh water runnoff?

Jacks and fresh water runnoff?

Guys,

A question for the Jack gurus!

I have begun chasing jacks at a few spots up our way around Bundaberg. Can anyone tell me if fresh water (ie we have had 200+ ml in areas around the baffle) runnoff etc improves or turns off the jack?? Any tips on fishing this situation greatly appreciated.

Any info greatly appreciated.

Cheers Steve

Re: Jacks and fresh water runnoff?

sould really stir them up when the fresh clears up a bit mate..

Depends on the water clarity and or chemicals in the run off. Being from Bundy I would suspect the cane farms would deliver quite a dose of chemicals with the first of the run off that could shut them down or chase them out.

If it is clean run off and not too dirty they will happily feed on whatever gets washed down. Generally smaller versions are more prevalent in high fresh situations though.

Ha - fancy Steve B asking for advice - I thought you knew it all mate. Bugger those Jacks up there, come down here to Bribie and we'll catch some other species mate - including xxxx. Cheers mate , catch up soon, Darren.

Quote Originally Posted by Fishbait View Post
    Ha - fancy Steve B asking for advice - I thought you knew it all mate. Bugger those Jacks up there, come down here to Bribie and we'll catch some other species mate - including xxxx. Cheers mate , catch up soon, Darren.
    Dumpy,

Mate I know!! Its a fish I have never really targeted, a few half baked efforts in the tweed and pioneer river at mackay......caught a few by accident in NT as a bycatch to everything else........Every experience has been awesome....I live within 1 hour of some awesome Jack country......I dont know why I haven't chased them properly before........I do read all the salty threads on how to catch them, and I thank all the guys for the great tips there. This years resolution is to target some different species.....getting a bit over pond donkeys!!!

Jack and uglyfish, thanks for the advice too!

cheers Steve

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Dumpy,

Mate I know!! Its a fish I have never really targeted, a few half baked efforts in the tweed and pioneer river at mackay......caught a few by accident in NT as a bycatch to everything else........Every experience has been awesome....I live within 1 hour of some awesome Jack country......I dont know why I haven't chased them properly before........I do read all the salty threads on how to catch them, and I thank all the guys for the great tips there. This years resolution is to target some different species.....getting a bit over pond donkeys!!!

Jack and uglyfish, thanks for the advice too!

cheers Steve
    stev if there is to much fresh they will not play but brackish water with a little salty taste in it is uselly pretty good if you going into baffle you should do really go 2 hours before and after the turns of the tide is normally tthe best for me i like the last of the run out anchor up flosting liveys back in to a rock ledge normally produces for me and has produced at baffle on the only trip i did there
    hope that helps

Mate, I'd be asking Andy(Chewy junior). I'm sure he'd love to show up the old man and put you onto a couple.
    Not to get technical...... but according to Chemistry, ALCOHOL IS A SOLUTION

Geez im getting a complex Steve iv only fished baffle after the fresh once with mediocre results,But if has stopped running id be having a look at the mouth,there will be stacks of fish there,barra,jacks and trevs. We fished the top of deepwater after rain once and got 7 jacks and two barra for the morning.the water is just aout jet black up the top,and we found orange lures produced the most fish as it seened to show up really well in the tannin stained water.I would really like to fish the causeway at the top of deepwater whike its still runnung over as the barra will be there trying to get up into the swampy lagoons but im not driving two hours just to do that. hope this helps.

I fished the burrum/gregory fri nite and sat nite after all the rain for no jacks.....just catfish and big muddies, yum. oh and plenty of debris, logs,,,, I reckon straight after rain is no good for a week or so, then it fires up in the second and third week.

Thanks, Simon, Dave, Chew and Andrew,

Thanks for the advice fellas, I will go do some exploritory work anyway and have a go.

Cheers Steve

One thing's definitely for sure..............if you don't have a go, you won't get them!

I reckon the fish stay in the general vicinity during heavy rains and small floodings as they did prior to lots of rain.
    Some might venture to river mouths etc,(pending on time of year), but I've found that they stay around their snags and hidey holes, but they stay deep.
    As you know, salt water is heavier than fresh.
    I've caught jacks on lures, fished deep, in salt rivers when you could drink the fresh on top.
    If you can find a drain or small creek with bait around, (prawns skipping, herring broaching etc.), on a run out tide, you're in with a big chance.

In times of heavy rains and fresh.......fish deeper!

Jeff.