Thread: wire trace for mackreal ?

wire trace for mackreal ?

need info on what and if any wire trace to use on mackreal,have heard that wire can scare the fish from taking the lure

Re: wire trace for mackreal ?

If you buy single strand wire (not the black coated stuff) you can generally get away with it. Just be carefull and dont kink it, it will break. Try both at the same time (trolling) and see how much difference it makes for peace of mind. Up here i always use single strand for trolling but use leader for casting at schoolies and spotties. When you are winding flat out usually you lip hook them but be prepared for lure losses anyway.

Only don't some, but always used 1.5m of wire trace (multistrand black coated stuff). The one in my avatar was caught on a Halco Pro 190 on a wire leader.

I use various sized single strand wire on lures and ganged rigs for floating pillies out the back to a 2 foot 160lb single strand on the bottom for my live bait setup for big trout and cod.
    My father uses jinkai trace for his
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

G'day mate.
    I've found that they don't bite when I use wire for both trolling and for casting so I'm wondering about this also. Never tried without one because I'm scared of losing lures.

depends mate you can use single strand for the big spaniards and only 300mm (MAX), but anything else like spotties, schoolies i wouldt even waste my time with wire, you may lose mfish without it but will get the hookups that you wouldnt with wire. all proven facts

cheers justin

Hey,

I havent caught any massive mackies yet. But when we do go out chasing them, i use 50lbs braid and 100lbs mono leader. Have only lost 1 lure so far. Guess luck may play a hand in there somewhere.

Me and a mate were trolling for doggies one day, he was using single strand black wire and got 0 to my 3, if that says anything.

Hope it helps.

I fished with 2 pro's years ago Mooloolaba and Bustard head mainly, niether fished with no more than an 10 inch single strand wire and we weren't there to loose fish if you know what I mean $$$$......

cheers Phil

I agree with skipalong an capt. mud, no more than 300mm single strand in various sizes 50-80pd, and for schoolies and spots just mono, no wire at all....if ya gonna use wire very short lengh of is the go on all rigs i reckon

Cheers Thorpy

I reckon they're like any other fish - the less obtrusive and more natural your lure/bait the better.There are days when it doesn't matter what you dish up to macks and they feed regardless. The majority of trips though (for me at least) are not like that.
    I use mono leaders for trolling lures, there's no doubt that more strikes result. I've run identical lures out on different leader weights and on there are defintely differences, especially on these perfect days when the fish can be very picky. When they're flighty, 20 or 30lb mono outfishes 60lb mono by a big margin. I do lose a (very) few lures but only smaller ones. I troll larger spano baits with about 20-30cm single strand wire. Never had a problem. A mate who does well on big spaniards never uses wire to troll his school mackerel/wolf herring baits

thanks to all for your advice,will try again this weekend without the losses of the previous weekend, cheers dave