Sounds like a great trip mate. Bet your young fella will be stoked pulling in a Fingery.
with a break in the rain on friday arvo after it flogged down in the morning, me & mozza made a quick decision to go out into the bay & catch some good fish. we got down to palleranda ramp about 7.00pm, we didn"t wast time getting to our mark as the sun was going down pretty quick & with a smooth sea that made the trip a whole lot better. this was the second trip out in good weather since i named the boat "hyper-active" & the name lived up again.
coming up to the mark there was another 2 boats sitting there 1 each side, so we sat about 30mtrs off it as there is a fair bit of rubble around it. these other 2 boats both had squid lights in so they were there chasing fingermark & we were going to do the same! 5mins past & the squid started to come around the light & it did not take long to have the live bait tank full of squid & some of these were big 1"s.
i kept all the squid heads from the last trip that we bought home to eat (2kgs), & started fishing with these & the grunter were straight on to them, catching 3 nice 1"s in about a hour's fishing. 2 going about 2.5kgs & 1 going about 3kgs, the quility fish shut down & the sharks started (only little 1"s) these got annoying but than they were gone too. there was no fingermark at this spot so a move was called for, following the swell back to the next mark made for a smooth ride & mozza was impressed (being a flat bottom). anochering up over the top of this mark we wasted no time getting the squid down, mozza"s reel started to scream & what ever it was it was not stopping his rod was boucing from the force of this run but snap & it was over, than his other rod goes off & a little shark bits him off so now he has no lines in the water until he re rigs them.
thats when my squid gets hammered but after a very short fight i pulled the hook from this fish, mozza has a line back in & not long after he gets bricked on his live squid (rigging up again hey mozza). i get another squid down & it didn"t take long & after a tuff fight i have what we came for beside the boat & mozza with his great landing net skills has him in the boat for me, all 82cm & 8.4kg of big brusing fingermark! it turned out to be the only 1 for the night but that did not stop mozza from catching monster"s from the deep. the first was a huge (& i reckon a mtr+ long) catfish, the second...well after a back breaking tussle he pulls this 30+kg shovelnose shark in (he tells me this is the biggest fish he has caught). so cutting it off & setting it free we decide to call it a night, getting home aroung 1am & putting the boat away i could see lighting & could hear thunder (good timing), mozza tells me today that we got 50ml"s.
i was goining to go again tonight but you geussed it it" raining again, tomorrow might be different & if it is good i plan on taking my young falla out, i so much want to put him onto a big fingermark!
ron.
reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active
Sounds like a great trip mate. Bet your young fella will be stoked pulling in a Fingery.
Nice report ron. sounds like you had a great time out there and timing was also impecable. Can you put up a pick of Hyperactive? And you going out again on Aus day or u reckon the weathers no good?
dunks
Hey Ron, nice Fingermark & Grunter. Looking at your shirt you must be a painter ?, Peter.
"We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
"Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"
dunkxx, when it stops raining i will put a pic of my boat up for you,if the rain stops i will be going out tonight as long as it"s not blowing to much either. or you could just look in my pic gallery.
peter, been painting for 18 years now, but she makes me wear my work clothes fishing & i seem to catch more. might be my lucky fishing shirt.
ron.
Well done Ron another great read!
Cheers Simon
Go the Barra Punts!
Good read Ronnien and even better fish!
Goddy
Great stuff Ron good to see your getting into them mate
VHF CHANNEL 21
CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)
There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot
I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges
Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)
I knew you'd be out there into in Ron, some good fish, but you've yet to equal our record from our last trip out.
Some nice fish there Ron...beaut fingermark once again...
whopper of a catfish too...
scott, didn't bring home as many as last time but more fish were caught!
scott, yeah oversize cattie but have got them alot bigger, a mate went out on sunday night & got 1 fm @112cm & 14.6kg. he is going to send me the pic.
mozza was feeling very score & tired after that session.
ron.
wicked sesh ron
figjam :wink:
nugg,
more to come mate!
ron.