Thread: Ice Moulds

Re: Ice Moulds

i use cleaned 3lt milk or juice bottle with just fresh water

3 or 4 of them and a bag of ice from the servo seems to last a couple of days for me

depends how often you open it

i like to keep fresh water in them so i have some nice cold water to drink

Hi All

Ice Moulds-- Do you know anyone that drinks from WINE CASKS. The inside bladder is great for freezing. They lay flat in the freezer once filled with water and you can re- use them as long as they don't get a puncture. We take the plastic cap off, fill a jug firstly with some very salty water and then just fill from the tap. Apparently the salt helps to stay frozen longer.

Just a cheap idea that i thought i would pass on..
    Ronnie

Ask your local Maccers for some 20ltr gerkin containers( like ice cream containers only taller) there perfect. same size as 2 blocks of pillies

BigE

A mate of mine uses a battery box, it makes decent size blocks of ice that last in the FNQ heat.
    Marty.

Quote Originally Posted by marty+jojo View Post
    A mate of mine uses a battery box, it makes decent size blocks of ice that last in the FNQ heat.
    Marty.
    I have a few of those one they use in forklifts[20l]
    They work well
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

butcher supplies like lesile or master butchers have plastic tapered containers around 10 litres . i use about seventy litres of ice in my esky in the boat. these containers sit nicely in a up right freezer or stack well in a chest on top of each other . tapered means they release quick

Whats the average sized esky are you guys using?
    I have a 215 litre in the boat Mackeral Coffin love the size and used the bottles filled with ice in 3 litre and 2 litre bottles but wanted the coverage to be better is why i started to go the crushed specially when you get a full esky of fish
    Don't know what other people find
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

the blocks from the butcher moulds are ideal size to smash with the donny nocker my esky is 300 litres

good info guys thanks heaps

i use a combination of 20L plastic (chemical) drums cut in half vertically for block ice, and 20L plastic drums with just the top 5cm cut off. I then smash the ice up with a lump hammer (in the drum), and you end up with good crushed ice that i then pour into a thick plastic bag and take in the fish esky. you can then pour the ice onto the fish as you get a layer of fish in the esky. saves having to rearrange the fish and ice all day.
    steve

just use old (square or round) plastic buckets, fill to the desired level (to make blocks the size needed) in the freezer and your done, cost nothing, work a treat and you can use them for other things as well, you are only making ice, not peforming brain surgery, pretty simple concept really!

We just use cheap plastic containers from any of the warehouse stores...but with a little extra addition. We form a handle by cutting up that tough plastic strapping from TV and fridge boxes and sit it in the mould like a handle. Really handy when pulling them out of the chest freezer and carrying them.

Guido

Good tip with the handles Guido.
    I used those rectangular plastic mop type buckets for a while bit they end up splitting. The metal bainmarie trays sound ideal, I'II have to get the boys to make a diversion next time Salmonella Sally calls around.......
    I am a tiler so I usually have a small collection of 15-20lt buckets laying around.

Best ice set up i've seen is Groote Eylandt, mining co has ice machine pumping away in town at shoping centre, just pull up on way to ramp load up 100-200lt esky and add to fish esky as req, oh no charge either.

I am really surprised that some boofhead has not posted about how it's more expensive to make your own ice than buy it............
    northernblue
    ><)))))))*>

It is a far, far better thing to have fished and lost, than never to have fished at all.

Go to your local ice cream shop & ask for some empty containers. They work a treat.
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM