Thread: Which rod for TLD25 and 6500 Baitrunner

Which rod for TLD25 and 6500 Baitrunner

I have bought two new reels, the TLD25 and a 6500B Baitrunner. Can someone recommend a couple of rods to match these reels?

I will be using them for trolling and bottom bashing mainly.

As for the Line, I am thinking of using 15kg braid for the TLD25 and 10kg braid for the 6500B. I am unsure whether mono or braid would be better for offshore fishing as I'm new to the whole thing.

Any thoughts?

Re: Which rod for TLD25 and 6500 Baitrunner

Definately go for braid ( unless you plan on doing lots of trolling) , it doesn't stretch like mono so you are in more contact with your bait and you get more feeling when a fish bites enabling you to set the hook at the correct time.

As for your rods it depends on your budget, if not to high i'd go and check out the daiwa 'grandwave ' or the shimano backbone series. I quite like the grandwave as its tip is a bit softer than the backbone ( enabling more feel with a lure/fish ) and its still got heaps of grunt down the bottom for pulling up a horse. Just go into a shop and handle a few rods, get someone to load them up and you will work out which one feels right.

Scottish Guy,

I have both these reels and have had great success with both of them on the following setups.
    TLD25 with a Shimano Taipan 10 to 15kg with roller tip. 50lb braid.
    Baitrunner 6500 with Wilson Live Fibre 8 to 15kg. 50lb braid.

Taipan was only about $100 and Live Fibre was $159. Find best price online and get your local store to match it.

Have caught many monsters over 1m with both setups trolling, bottom bashing and floating.

dave

I have two TLD 25's, one with 24kg mono for trolling with a custom made M10 rod. The other with 24kg braid on a Shimano backbone 15-24kg rod for bottom bouncing. The 6500BR I have is loaded with 15kg mono and a 8-10kg Ugly Stick for shallow reef float baiting but a mate has 15kg braid on his for deeper reefs that works well on his 8-15kg Silstar Power Tip.
    All not expensive rods at around $100.00 except for the M10 which might set you back a few hundred or so.
    Personally, if money is tight, I would spend it on quality braid and cheaper rods. I still have a Penn Slammer 24kg stick {$50.00} and a Gary Howard 2100 Barra Stick{$30.00} that I originally used on the TLD and the BR and are still in one piece after 10 years give or take a few runner replacements from rough play.

Scoota...

live fibres=best value for money, imo
    i run 50lb platypus braid on my tld and 30lb platinum on my btr6500, i had 50lb braid on it, but it was a pain in the arse, 30lb mono is awesome for floatlining.

Check out the Wilson Live fibre 7' 15-24kg ZWS70XJ for your TLD, Its a better blank than an m10 IMO.

Wilson do a nice corresponding blank up for the btr but I'm not sure of the numbers.

They will set you up with two very nice combo's

I run my my TLD20 on a 7ft 15-24kg Live Fibre and I reckon it is supperb. My 6500 came with a 7ft 7-10kg Silstar power tip plus for an extra $20 I use it with 10kg mono for floatlinning and I love it, I thought for that price if it's crap I will buy a new one but it has a supperb action and has not let me down.

Daiwa grandwave, definately or a Ugly stick Bluewater 15k is a good match for the 6500
    Tangles KFC

I agree with the others with the Live Fibre 7' 15-24kg ZWS70XJ as a great match for the TLD 25. There are quite a few good spin blanks in the range.
    I use 24kg PowerBraid on my TLD but am thinking of going back to mono for float lining and trolling

Quote Originally Posted by maxi View Post
    I run my my TLD20 on a 7ft 15-24kg Live Fibre and I reckon it is supperb. My 6500 came with a 7ft 7-10kg Silstar power tip plus for an extra $20 I use it with 10kg mono for floatlinning and I love it, I thought for that price if it's crap I will buy a new one but it has a supperb action and has not let me down.

I have both rods mentioned, plus a 10 -15kg Live Fibre and a 8 to 15kg Powertip and love them. Reels are TLDs 15 & 25, and Baitrunners 4500/6500 and a Thunnus.