Thread: Turkey Beach- Pancake Crk

Turkey Beach- Pancake Crk

Hi All

Just wondering who has been there and will a 5.5m tinnie be too big?

Re: Turkey Beach- Pancake Crk

Hi mate,

Your boat won't be too big. We recently took a 625 Explorer to Turkey and we managed to launch and retrieve without too many issues. The beach launching area at Turkey is a lot softer than in the past, we couldn't pull my boat up it due to this and were forced to use the ramp. The ramp was a bit slippery, but with the fourby in low range and with a foot on the brake when launching and retrieving we got by. The other hassle with the ramp is that it is very exposed to tidal currents so driving the boat on can be a little bit difficult when the tide is running, but if you can use the beach launching area you wont have this hassle. Personally, I am going to use 1770 from now on, just for ease of launching and distance to the areas we prefer to fish, but Turkey is certainly an awesome spot.

I'm sure there are plenty who know more about the area than me, this is based on what I found up there last month, but I think with a 5.5m tinny you should be fine.

Its a great spot, you'll have a blast.

Shane

Just wondering also how long does it take to drive from Turkey Beach to 1770.The main reason i'm looking at Turkey Beach is for the estary fishing as the wife is not really an offshore person, if we get a dead flat day then she will go out but she would prefer inshore fishing.

Hi Mark,

You won't shouldn't have any issues with a 5.5m tinny around Turkey Beach. As Shane said the ramp is exposed to tidal currents, but you should be fine with your size boat. We usually use the beach area adjacent to the ramp, with a 4x4.

You will have no problems heading out the front & around to Pancake creek or Bustard Head if you want.

It will take around an hour to drive to 1770 from Turkey Beach.

Cheers Gazza

Trymyluck,

Sorry mate, I hope I didnt turn you off Turkey. My boat would be quite a bit heavier than yours I would think and we had a BT50 up there which just wouldn't get it up the beach. That said, we did manage by using the ramp and had a great time.

You should be fine at Turkey mate.

Shane

Shane - no probs there, big difference between our boats, looking at more protected waters for the wife but if it looks ok then we will head offshore a bit, also do you camp up there or rent a house. Looking at renting but at $500 for a week i'm having second thoughts.

We generally rent a house mate, when you get up there with a few mates its quite an economical way to go. Plus the sandflies up there can be pretty ferocious, you really need somewhere with screens so you can get away from them. There are fishing cabins there, I am not sure what they are like as I have never stayed there, but if you ring the general store at Turkey I am sure they could give you an idea of costs and quality.

Hi Trymyluck

I took a 4.8 cuddy up there a couple of times and the ramp will not be a problem for you I would think.

If you're going to go up the creeks it could get interesting - some narrow creeks and I had to do a few 3 point turns myself.

Give it a go. Just be careful up those creeks - many rock bars that will sort out your prop for you (unfortunately I speak with experiemce...)

This is our Turkey Beach special recipe to keep the sandflies away, I can vouch for it, it works a treat, just give yourself a good coating!

1/3 each of Dettol, baby oil and metho. In a pump-type spray bottle, give a good shake and apply. Sooths bites too!

Good luck.

ML

ML I'll be in a 5.5 cuddy with a couple of worn out props that chew the juice but are perfect for banging over rock bars as I found out at Baffle.

1/3 each of Dettol, baby oil and metho We used similar mixture down south but I think we used citronella oil. Just had to cover up if you went out in the sun as you would burn to a crisp with the baby oil.

Shane That was my thought as about a house, camping with sandflies is a pain. Although either i'm starting to get used to them or they are as bad as the southern ones. I used to pay for weeks after getting bitten down at Foster but the ones around here don't seem as bad. Seeing as there will most likely only 2 of us Imight look at a unit instead of a house, just a little cheaper.

Trymyluck,

Sandflies - Take a trip to Bunnings and buy a couple of pair of the mesh painting overalls - under $10. Make sure the place you rent has fans or take one yourself and keep it on all night. Take the coils.

Fishing - Watch the tides as you can get caught up a creek on the low tides. These are rock piles on some of the sandbanks, apparently dumped ballast from old sailing ships.

1770 - There is a shorth cut???? to 1770/Agnes Waters through a few cattle properties (Looks like some good fishing spots along the way but you have to detour off the main track) . You need a 4WD. The track has been used for a few car rallies. Not good in the wet and you can get easily lost, apparently!!.

This is one of Craigie's favourite spots. Drop him a PM.

Quote Originally Posted by trymyluck View Post
    Although either i'm starting to get used to them or they are as bad as the southern ones. I used to pay for weeks after getting bitten down at Foster but the ones around here don't seem as bad. Mark

Maybe you are just getting too old and crusty to be worth bighting anymore!!!!

Might be right there, gotta be some advantage's to getting older.

turkeys great fishing and if the weathers calm mate you can head out the front from there,ive caught big macks and reefys at ethel rocks..

Quote Originally Posted by uglyfish View Post
    turkeys great fishing and if the weathers calm mate you can head out the front from there,ive caught big macks and reefys at ethel rocks..
    Just be aware of the Green Zone south of Ethel Rocks

http://www.gbrmpa.gov.au/__data/asse...676/mpz_17.pdf

Gday,heading up to Turkey Beach mid-may & hoping to camp.If you google-maps you will find Blackneys point campground a little to the north of Turkey Beach township,it seems to be right on the water,& could probably launch straight of the beach if you have a 4x4.How accurate this info is or if it is still a campsite i guess i'll findout when we get ther in may.We have a 12 ft tinny so shouldnt present launching probs.Will let you know how we get on on return end of june.