Thread: Borumba - getting better - Toga time

Borumba - getting better - Toga time

TryMyLuck (Mark) was feeling 'sick' today, so I got him to come along for another session at Borumba this morning. Headed off the ramp at day break and tryed a few new bays with bit abit of surface action, but not for us. Moved around to another bay and Mark drops a rough cast into the shore and hooks up with a nice toga. It put us a ahort, but spectacular fight with some wicked air action. Netted and it went 53cm - very nice. Worked along the short line to another bay and Mark snags up, so I throw a sneaky cast beside his snagged kure and bang, I'm on to another toga. Fought it out and boated a little 44cm unit. Had a few other hits without hookups and then had to call it quits as a storm approached. Didn't make it back to the ramp in time and got drenched.

All up a good day and learnt a bit more about the place. Was great for us both to get our first toga and it was good to get them out of that pond.

Re: Borumba - getting better - Toga time

Great toga, keep up the good work!
    I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

Hi Steve,

Well done to Mark and yourself, great result and what a way to christen the new boat!

Toga are a very special fish, can't wait to get hooked up to another one soon - you beat me to get a Borumba Toga you buggers!

Weather was perfect, the boat great and the skipper put us on the fish no worries.

Toga........just too easy...........just jumping in the boat Bet thats the last one i ever catch.

Seriously if the weather holds and we don't get too much rain in the next few weeks then the BB will be a corker.

Gunna have to upgrade the gear too, not enough bling to have in the photo's, the old silstar carbon rod, (still don't know where i aquired that one) and the reel off a cheap penn combo that died just dosn't look right.

Gotta get something to put one of those shiny handles like Tony's on. hehehe

HA!!! I knew it!

You have a serious case of handle envy!

It is shiny though so I do understand

Bring on the BB - I'm working on a few secret weapons to bring along....

Have to agree with Mark re Borumba. It is looking the best I have every seen it. If we don't get any major rainfall, it will be a ripper for the BB.

Was a great day trying to work things out and pretending to be real fishermen.

Tony - we did note that you will now be itching to get there to get a few. We threw them back for you to catch.

Hey Steve - your cleaning up on those Toga's lately - do you keep them and if so, what are they like to eat? Darren.

Quote Originally Posted by Fishbait View Post
    Hey Steve - your cleaning up on those Toga's lately - do you keep them and if so, what are they like to eat? Darren.
    The best thing about Toga as a sportfish is the fact that they taste like old footy socks boiled in dishwater and have hundreds of little bones.

Nice work guys!! Bring on the bash!!
    hope your feeling better Mark
    Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
    'Oh Shit.....she's awake'

great session fellas the toga are starting to fire

Quote Originally Posted by Fishbait View Post

Nah Darren, we released back into the dam for Tony to catch.

Thanks Steve

Steve,

Nice fish mate!! looking good for the bash!!!

Thanks for the report!!

cheers steve

Quote Originally Posted by Apollo View Post
    Nah Darren, we released back into the dam for Tony to catch.

Thanks Steve
    Thanks guys, I need all the help I can get

Quote Originally Posted by TonyM View Post
    Thanks guys, I need all the help I can get

We Know