Thread: Tingalpa Creek crabs

Tingalpa Creek crabs

Spent the morning crabbing Tingalpa Creek upstream of the bridges. We use pots with fresh fish frames.
    Very dissapointed as we did not get even a sign of crabs. No legals, no undersize and no jenneys. Nothing whatsoever.

Does anyone have any idea why not. I would have thought we'd at least see some small ones.

Re: Tingalpa Creek crabs

Thats strange.
    My dad and i used to get heaps just on fishing lines, might be all fished out
    I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

Unreal John ,I thought you'd have to be in with a show. ??

How long were your pots in?

Pots were in about 8:00am, checked every hour or so and pulled about 12:00.
    Just can't figure why no underies even.

Has there been a release of fresh water from the dam or a sewerage overflow from the treatment plant recently?

Its all the poo they pump into it.

Mate the creek can be like that.....you have to experiment a bit and spread your pots over a large area. Once you have found them it should be good though. You might have to go a fair way up the creek at the moment as we haven't had much rain.

need to go up on corner before the boat yard mate be sure to keep them in viewing distance,every time i leave my pots in that creek without watching they get raided,and leave them in for at least 4 hours before checking them

Thanks everyone for your replies.
    I'll give it a go again in a couple of weeks to see if there's any improvement.

Mate me and my dad set the pots up there about 3 nights in a row, just setting them late in the arvo and back at first light. We just kept getting huge jennies and only just under bucks. it was pretty disappointing but i suppose thats the fun of it.