Thread: Strudwick Sic stic/sic stic pro?

Strudwick Sic stic/sic stic pro?

hi all
    thinking about getting either a sic stic or a sic stic pro for snapper and spinning for tuna and mackeral, so a rod around 4-8 kilo. they are pretty cheap at the moment. have read some old reports that they snap really easy. is this still the case? or if you do all the right things they a fine?
    any help appreciated

Re: Strudwick Sic stic/sic stic pro?

I've got a 7' 2-4kg sic stik pro that has been my bream bass and bay snapper rod for a couple of years now. Its performed flawlessly and for $75 was a bargain. got a spare 6'6" version at the same time that has seen the water about 3 times for a back up. Nothing wrong with the old struddies I reckon. I'm keen to see the new ones.
    I also read those same reports you did, and similar stories about Pflueger Trion rods....I also have a couple of those which haven't mysteriously snapped. I reckon its more about how you treat them that decides their longevity.

Cheers Roo.

Mate, just to let you know they're in sale at Boating and Camping and Fishing with a 40% discount

Strudwick did have random issues with their blank quality ........ I had a SicStik pro that broke during a cast on its first trip ( no overloading issues) ........ Spoke to a manager of a fairly big tackle store ...... who confirmed that! ....... fly rods were especially a hit & miss.

A shame really because they always look like a well made rod.
    Anyhow ...... lets see how the new range goes as once again ..... they LOOK good
    MW bought one for barra

I have a 4 year old 7' 2-4 kg Sic Stick that has been my main Bay Snapper rod. It has pulled hundreds of fish including a number of Spotties, Cod and Mac Tuna along with the Snapps. I paid $65.00 for it and it is still my nuber one light bay outfit

Ive had nothing but dramas with the studwick snapstick rod range. Between me and my older brother we've had about 10 rods snap. 3 were from accidents.

The last incident i had we lost 10 rods in a mishap with a battery charger. 8 loomis rods and 2 snapsticks. All rods were broken pretty cleanly in the middle of the blanks. Upon inspection, the thickness of the blanks on the snapstix were about 1/3 of the thickness of the loomis'.

Ive had rods snap tring to whip plastics off snags, casting small hard bodies and even mid fight on small bream and flathead.

Dont think ill ever purchase another strudwick rod.

Cheers Whytey
    If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

Thanks heaps for the replys.
    does anyone know if they make the sic stics and the pro models in a 4-8 kilo model or something similar?

Hi Shuan_s
    I got for chrissy a softbodz one of the new nano tech rods it is a 7' 4-8kg from memory and damn it is a nice rod i use it for chasing jew and jacks around the clarence with livies and yer could not reccomended them more she is teamed up with a TD sol 4000 running 14LB braid cost is a bit more then u may want 2 part with though

Melony

Quote Originally Posted by Why-ting View Post
    Ive had nothing but dramas with the studwick snapstick rod range. Between me and my older brother we've had about 10 rods snap. 3 were from accidents.

The last incident i had we lost 10 rods in a mishap with a battery charger. 8 loomis rods and 2 snapsticks. All rods were broken pretty cleanly in the middle of the blanks. Upon inspection, the thickness of the blanks on the snapstix were about 1/3 of the thickness of the loomis'.

Ive had rods snap tring to whip plastics off snags, casting small hard bodies and even mid fight on small bream and flathead.

Dont think ill ever purchase another strudwick rod.

Cheers Whytey
    Snapsticks
    A couple years back they just about couldn't give em away ........ word was out

PS .... As for the new nano technology Making a rod more flexible - kind of defeats the benefits of high modulus graphite. all the benefits claimed are all aimed at increasing the strength of the blank - Not performance ........ You might as well buy a graphite / glass blend

I've got a sic stik pro 6'6 1-3kg for breamin and I love it. ATM BCF have the following specials on studwicks:
    sic stik $69
    sick stik pro $99
    Harbaitz $199
    Sofbodz $199