Thread: Big tilapia in carindale

Big tilapia in carindale

Hi guys,
    today a mate of mine and myself went for a fish in bulimba creek, only to get a couple bream ect, so we decided to pay a visit to minnippi parklands, to chase some eels (have caught 80cm ones before) and when i got there, i thought I saw a monster carp, so naturally i tried to catch it, then once it took my bait, I landed it to find that it was a 40cm tilapia, the first I have ever caught It was then killed wrapped up, and thrown in the bin.

next cast i was on again this time a 32cm model.
    killed.

then we proceded to follow the school of about 100 around, trying to pick them off.

Only got another 4 for the day before I had to go home.

If anyone is in carindale and would like to join us on a kill off day, please PM me
    also, we are thinking of asking for the councils permission to stock it with some native fish as it is brimming with lil guppie things. does anyone know the details about doing that?

Anyway, thanks for listening it was a great hour on the lake.

P.S. sorry about the poor quality pics, only had a phone with us.
    I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

Re: Big tilapia in carindale

Well done. I bet he went hard on that light tackle. To answer the question on your other post cast and drag nets are illegal to use in fresh water. so you'll just have to pic them off one at a time. Guess you'll end up pretty good at catching them hey.

thoes talipa defently go hard on light gear dont they.shame they taste like shat.but i know of certian people who love them.rember years ago me and a couple of mates went out to fish the back of the npd at daybro when we got to our spot there would of been 5 famlies of asions fishing i reckon in the hr we were there they would of keeped 50 plus talipa.and every one we caught they asked if they could have them.

What about a scoop net?
    They have been at our feet to the point of being able to scoop down and grab em.
    Could I use a landing net?
    I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

i'm for a culling session... do they take lures?..

Quote Originally Posted by haybii View Post
    i'm for a culling session... do they take lures?..

Apparently so, never tried though, but will next time. People have said they take small sp's

If you live in brissie and would like to cull some let me know
    I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

Thanks guys, a couple ausfishers have put there hand up and we will have a cull of day soon.
    I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

try a bugipop in white

Quote Originally Posted by SWANY22 View Post
    thoes talipa defently go hard on light gear dont they.shame they taste like shat.but i know of certian people who love them.rember years ago me and a couple of mates went out to fish the back of the npd at daybro when we got to our spot there would of been 5 famlies of asions fishing i reckon in the hr we were there they would of keeped 50 plus talipa.and every one we caught they asked if they could have them.
    koble creek. i have very vivid memories of what must have been that same family catching heaps of tilapia and keeping them. geez that must have been 10 years ago or somthing. i almost thought your post must have been one of my brothers playing a trick on me.
    ps, well done snagking
    boat minder- only $40 a day

What bait do they seem to be taking.
    Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

Well, they only bait we have used is bread under a float.

There have been reports from a friend that works at the tackle wharehouse that has seen 60cm carp in the lake (I'm positive I saw a monster carp in there once, but I only glimpsed it so i can't be positive)

But we plan on hitting it on tuesday.
    I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

Does any one know if there's bass in Bulimba creek? I'm sure there definatly was once, but does anyone fish for them? Because that would be fun.

cheers.

nah i don't think so, not anymore anyway...
    I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

If you get bored, there is also a section of the creek (or drain) on Barrack st and Ivy st in Morningside or Balmoral that is full of the buggers. 2lb fluro, a little float and some bread is all you need. There are some decent sized ones in there but usually they start off pretty gung-ho and you catch the biggest one and then they get spookier and get smaller and smaller.

If only they were easier lure targets. Maybe I'll dust off the fly rod.

Josh