Thread: SPs at Kawana Weir

SPs at Kawana Weir

G'day guys

Going to go back and give the weir another go but want to have a whack at it with the soft plastics. Not really sure which ones and what jig heads I should be using. I'll have 2 rods on hand the 1-3kg stick with 6lb braid and the 2-5kg with 12lb braid.

I'm thinking that i should throw in around where the water is boiling from the running in water. Just allow it to sink to the bottom and slowly skip it back to me.

Just one other thing, are the weir and the lock at 2 different spots. Cause I was told the weir was the concrete wall that goes across the river near premier circuit.

Any help is appreciated.

Glenn

Re: SPs at Kawana Weir

PM sent mate

JAYVEE

A good mate and I are new to lures, we're out tommorow around Kawana/Mooloola river lands based to try for whatever it is we manage (if anything) to catch.

We intended to start at Premier ciruit and just dart around place to place from there.

If anyone would be so kind as to offer a spot or two... (I catch and release, my mate tends to eat what he catches. However should a spot be offered he will gladly adhere to a catch and release policy if requested)... I would very very much appreciate it.

I'm also curious, is premier circuit the correct wier?

Thank you

Matt.

If you go to premier circuit, on the river side where the water flows through just watch for snags There seems to be plenty of rocks, pipes or what ever it is to get hooked on. Seems to be from the bank across to about the second pylon. I donated a heap of tackle there yesterday.

Glenn

3 inch power minnows and walk the dog type surface lures, thats all im saying
    figjam :wink:

Quote Originally Posted by nuggstar View Post
    3 inch power minnows and walk the dog type surface lures, thats all im saying
    I tried a walk the dog lure for a little while without result, but I guess I am still trying to get the action right. I'm getting there, braid as helped.

Matt.