Thread: Need Cast Net Advice

Need Cast Net Advice

Okay, so before I get smashed for posting this , yes I'm aware theres about 20 threads already on this and I have searched and looked through a bunch!

But basically I'm thinking to buy a new cast net obviously and not sure what I should go for.. I've decided on Mono as all the posts seem to indicate it's the best material to go for...

But I'm not sure about top pocket, bottom pocket or drawstring.

From what I've gathered top pocket is better for prawns, bottom for baitfish, draw for both?

I'm mainly doing it for baitfish but I wouldn't mind prawns if I could get them! haha... but my main question to anyone whose used one or has one, is have they had many problems with getting snags or such on the drawstring? - My main concern is as I'm casting into estuaries and rivers... pulling the draw around a nice big rock or such and tearing up the net.

Any advice or experiences with this?

Re: Need Cast Net Advice

dan,
    if you are casting around snags it wont matter what net you use, mono will tear quicker then nylon. stay away from rocks & snags!
    i have a drawstring & my mate has a top pocket, side by side in the boat i got twice as many prawns then he did,the drawstring cause very little damage to the bait. no sinkers smashing into them as the leadline gets gathered up to the top leaving the bait to rest on the mono at the bottom. have heard people say that they get alot of tangles with a drawstring, this is so but it only takes a second to go through the lead line getting them out, i do this about every third cast. in saying this there is nothing wrong with a top pocket either.

ron.
    reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

That was a fantastic post Ron! the info is highly appreciated, I did suspect that a drawstring would have to take the best catch seeming you can shut it and keep it shut once you start pulling it up, I know my current old cast net tends to pull open if there's something bigger like a mullet or such in the bottom of it.

I do try to stay away from rocks & snags obviously, but casting off Jetti's I'm presuming there will be a couple around somewhere at Burleigh... I guess the best idea will be to try and close it up just before it hits the bottom.

dan,
    thats a good idea closing up as it hits the bottom, but once you know that there is no snags you can let it hit bottom than quickly pull in closing the net quick this lets very little out if any.

ron.
    reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

Don't even think of bringing it across the border into NSW, they're not legal to use or even have in your boat down here and it carries a $500 fine if you are caught. A stupid law, in my view particularly when you can legally use a 6 metre drag net which does more damage and requires no skill. I reckon that Fisheries in NSW need a major revamp of some outdated laws.

BF

Go for mono, and as big as you can handle, mine's 12'. It also has top and bottom pocket, i'm sure you will be able to get similar

Quote Originally Posted by bassfan View Post
    Don't even think of bringing it across the border into NSW, they're not legal to use or even have in your boat down here and it carries a $500 fine if you are caught. A stupid law, in my view particularly when you can legally use a 6 metre drag net which does more damage and requires no skill. I reckon that Fisheries in NSW need a major revamp of some outdated laws.

BF
    Hey Bassfan,

Thanks for the warning mate, I did pick up on it earlier with another thread I read and someone mentioned they where illegal luckily I found out, I was going to go to Tweed heads and use it.. but I don't think I'll be fishing the tweed this round.. broadwaters to tweed is a bit far... Burleigh is nice and close so I'll just stick to there.

And I've gotto agree! that's what I found absolutely stupid, no cast net, yet you can run through there with a 6 metre drag net... not only does it cause a lot more damage and require no skill, it means it's much more dangerous to use aswell! If you take into account using it in an estuary, you've got sharks, jellyfish, stonefish, stingrays.... in my opinion a very pointless law.

Hey Dave,

Thanks for the advice mate, do you think it'd be better to get one with both pockets or a draw?
    Are ones with both pockets common? Could I pick one up from say.. BCF or Annaconda or Tackle Warehouse in brissy?

Anyone know where to pick up a drawstring net? I tried BFC tonight, but they didn't have any?

If you know where to look, top and bottom pocket nets are commonplace, Get something that's good quality, has a good weight to it as so it can get plenty of momentum and open right every time and sink at a reasonable weight.

I buy mine from my local, Graheme up at Wellington Point Marine, 32072235 is where you can find him, Tell him I sent you.

Tackle warehouse or budds at cleveland would be my next places to try, bcf, That sports store, anaconda and the like only stock the cheap imported production nets........... and there's a massive quality and yeild difference.

Hey Dave,

Thanks for the info mate, unfortunately I don't think I'll be able to make it over to wellington point before I leave .... I might have to try tackle warehouse on saturday... I might call them to make sure they've got one first though, I'm keen to get a drawstring now =D

Damn! Well I've rang a good 5 or 6 shops in brissy now, finding a draw net is bloody hard it seems!

All I could find is either a 8' Draw string.

or a 10' top & bottom pocket.

What do you all think I should go with? - Would the 8' be too small?, else if someone knows somewhere else I could try I'm happy to haha.

Mate have a look in the back of B'N'B mag, ring old Bob in the Redlands and get one of his drawstring nets. You wont find a better net anywere else, I bought one years ago and use it for bait and prawns it has a 16 foot spread.

Adam

Hey Adam,

I'd love to, but unfortunately I'm pretty limited for transport atm so I can't get out to Redlands I've basically gotto get something that's around my area... Brissy ... or get something from Broadwaters / GC when I go this wkend..

Ever consider getting a courier to pick it up and deliver it to you? It'll be pretty cheap