Thread: Hinze 13.1.09

Hinze 13.1.09

Finally got out on Hinze again after a bit of an absense. Went out in my mates boat for a late afternoon session fishing between 4pm and 7pm. The barometer was at 1017 for the first time since November(from my records) so we were looking forward to this stirring up the fish a bit.

Ending up landing 9 in the boat from about 8cm to 40cm. A few good hits and fish were in or near the flooded grass with surface/subsurface presentations. Included are a few photos of some of the fish and successful lures for those interested. Most were caught trollling between spots. All in all a relaxing afternoon with fish, beer, kettle chips and conversation. - cheers Richard

Re: Hinze 13.1.09

Great Stuff Richard and great photos, I'm keen as to give Hinze a go. Drove down to have a look at the Temporary ramp on the weekend, with all the washouts I don't thing the Calais would get down there or if it did it wouldn't get back up!!! Hitting Lake Intrepid tomorrow hoping for some Trevally, Giant Herring etc, will have to wait till work buy me the new ute before I can get into Hinze again I reckon. Cheers, Jamie.

Nice haul Richard. Cheers for showing the lures that did the damage.
    Sure has been hard to find fish of late. Glad your having some luck.

great stuff, some nice fish,thanks for showing..brett

Great fish! Keep up the good work!
    I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

nice fish richard, have to organise that meet up very soon hey for a flick
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Quote Originally Posted by OverNover View Post
    Great Stuff Richard and great photos, I'm keen as to give Hinze a go. Drove down to have a look at the Temporary ramp on the weekend, with all the washouts I don't thing the Calais would get down there or if it did it wouldn't get back up!!! Hitting Lake Intrepid tomorrow hoping for some Trevally, Giant Herring etc, will have to wait till work buy me the new ute before I can get into Hinze again I reckon. Cheers, Jamie.
    Try the western ramp Jamie, it is a better option for cars I reckon although the ramp is very shallow so you gotta back it in as far as you can before the car gets too wet. definitely the easier option for you and closer too. Just make sure you hide any valuables out of sight when you leave a car there. it can be seen from the road so any lowlife could stop by and have a go at your stuff.

Cheers Roo.

Thanx for that Roo and Thanx Richard & Bron for the PM's, I didn't even know there was a Western, where is that for future reference???? As it happens Stu (stuart db) is also keen as to hit Hinze and has scored the boss's cruiser for the weekend, so there's no stoppin us now!!!! We'll be headin out early Sunday, hope to see some fellow Ausfishers out there, mine's the little white Edgetraker funnily enough called OverNover, give us a hoy if you see us, Cheers, Jamie.

My PB's - Have Photos of most of them.

Flathead - 98cm - Bait - Tweed River
    Spottie Mackerel - 105cm - Bait - Palmy Reef
    Australian Bass - 48cm - Spinnerbait - Spot X
    Yellowbelly - 48cm - Yellowbelly - Jackall - Sommerset
    Bream - 38cm - MF40 - Nerang River
    Whiting - 40cm - Bait - Nerang River
    Jack - 40cm (Pitiful I Know) - Live Bait - Coomera River
    Barra - 104cm - Storm Pro Paddle Tail - Mondy

Quote Originally Posted by OverNover View Post
    Thanx for that Roo and Thanx Richard & Bron for the PM's, I didn't even know there was a Western, where is that for future reference???? As it happens Stu (stuart db) is also keen as to hit Hinze and has scored the boss's cruiser for the weekend, so there's no stoppin us now!!!! We'll be headin out early Sunday, hope to see some fellow Ausfishers out there, mine's the little white Edgetraker funnily enough called OverNover, give us a hoy if you see us, Cheers, Jamie.

Did you get back in before the storm hit on sunday?? We got very very wet. All for 1 bass trolled up on the way home!! Going to have another crack on saturday. Can't get any worse
    Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
    'Oh Shit.....she's awake'

Only just!!! Cut it real fine, we copped a soaking anyway, for a while there it was jacket on, jacket off, jacket on, jacket off!!!! Were you in the Cruiser parked halfway back up the track??? If so, yeah, you would have copped it, you were the last in, all that was left when we came in. We got an early start hoping for some surface action on the Eastern side, threw everything we owned for nothing, headed down the Western side and got our first fish around 9ish, ended up landing 8, only 2 of any size, a 38cm & a 39cm, rest were very small. All fish were on TN60's and the Banana colour proved to be flavour of the day (stuart db's lure of choice) with a couple caught on Ghost Ayu colour, we tried everything else, spinnerbaits, poppers, fizzers, crawlers, divers, sp's, nothing else did the job, Jackall's were the go to lure again!!!!! Notice the drop in temp over Saturday, reckon that would have been the pick, keen to get back out there but, Cheers, Jamie. Few photos below, sorry about the quality.

Well done Jamie at least you got a few. Was planning to get out there on Sunday myself but had trouble getting the motor off the boat. Hinze is a beautiful setting don't you think?

Kim, sorry I wasn't able to meet you guys out there. I suppose one is better than none. Those storms looked pretty fierce from my place. Sounds like you are keen to get out there again.

- cheers Richard

Thanx Richard & Kim, Yep, she was pretty tough, all our fish were pulled from within 250m of each other, classic purple patch!!!! I'm as keen as to get back out there, great setting, quite surreal to be out there at the crack of dawn, see some great sites, we had the worlds biggest eagle stalking us, the thing was massive, we heard it coming before we saw it, must have had a 7ft wingspan we reckon, I weigh 105kg and I was worried about being carried away!!!!! This weekends out for me, but I'll be back out there next weekend for sure!!!

Kim & Roo - hook me up with this Western Ramp info!!!

Cheers Guys!! Can't waste the weekly permit. We might try an early sesh on saturday.
    We got to the western ramp about 3ish QLD time. There were a few other guys sitting in cars waiting for it to stop pissing pick handles We had a fair bit of water in the boat by the time we got back to the ramp. (also had to stop on the way at currumbin to take the bungs out, bloody thing was filling with water on the way to the ramp) No jacket on, jacket off it rained all arvo. Pulled the boat out at about 8.00pm QLD time. Roo will have to give you the run down on how to get to the western ramp. All I know is we headed towards advance town and turned off down a little dirt road
    It was my first trip to Hinze so it can only get better from here!! Looking forward to seeing it on a sunny day.
    Cheers Kim.
    Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
    'Oh Shit.....she's awake'

Heres a map from GCCC website. has directions on it too.

Cheers Roo.