Thread: New Rods - What To get! Need Advice!

Re: New Rods - What To get! Need Advice!

Mate give the beaches a crack. Not that long ago I went to Burleigh Beach for a few hours early one morning and spun up a couple of little school mackeral before the crowds invaded the water and ended my fishing there. Alot of the beaches that way hold plenty of dart at the moment (good fun on light gear) I went for a walk with the missus yesterday arvo along Fingal, took a cheap 8ft spin outfit with me and walked some gulp worms along, plenty of dart, mostly smallish but some better then average ones occassionally, and saw some whiting getting caught as well.
    I was using an old Butterworth rod and a shimano ax 4000 reel. can get salt water sprayed all over it and who cares? I give it a rinse in fresh water afterwards and occassionally oil it up. It's a cheap, muck around set up I use sometimes in calm weather and close gutters on the beach.
    If you are gonna hit the beach, go *early* morning or late afternoon when the crowds are thinner, and try and find a gutter with no swimmers in it. There are a few bluebottles getting about too, so keep an eye out!

Quote Originally Posted by Wilko88 View Post
    Hey Walugi, yeah good idea mate, might do that and also go ask the people at the tackle store their opinions ... as well as of course use any advice of here of course =D

At least I've settled on my lighter rod, I think for that I'm gunna go for a Starlo Stix Squidgy Spin Med.
    Hey no probs

Word of caution about SS, i've read that a unusually high number of them snap at the tip. Even the guy at bee shee eff told me that his did and didn't recommend me to buy it.

I still reckon you'd be better off getting another shop to try and pricematch something close to BCFs 25% and get a shimano rod (raider or SS pro tourney)

although the pro tourney is 1pc i believe, which is pretty annoying

Thanks for the warning Walugi, I'll be hoping this doesn't happen to mine! haha... perhaps it was because they just hooked up to a fish too big for the rod?

But anyhow I settled on the Startlo Stix Squidgy Spin M and got a nice lil 100 dollar reel to go with... I think from memory a Daiwa Regal 1500... but 10 ball bearings so hopefully good.

by the way, thanks to all for your advice!

I can't say I disagree with your rod choice... I'm loving the crap out of mine.

Matt.

Good to hear Matt! I hope I enjoy mine as much, I'm sure I'll have some kind of report to post up when I'm back anyhow ( I hope haha )

Quote Originally Posted by walugi View Post
    Hey no probs

Word of caution about SS, i've read that a unusually high number of them snap at the tip. Even the guy at bee shee eff told me that his did and didn't recommend me to buy it.

I still reckon you'd be better off getting another shop to try and pricematch something close to BCFs 25% and get a shimano rod (raider or SS pro tourney)

although the pro tourney is 1pc i believe, which is pretty annoying
    I have one as a throw around boat hack and it,s as tough as nails (carbon composite blank) Similar to the old Taipan blank and ive run one of those for 15 years 6'6" two piece 4-6lb bagged every thing from half lb trout up to 8lb aust. salmon on her running hard bodies.I would still be using it today but it,s a tad wippy and short for softies.
    I reakon they were trying to up sell the raider
    Reidy

lol.. It's rather unsettling when someone elses throw around hack is the equivelant of my best rod.

hahaha I know how you feel Chamelion, that is a little hard to swallow haha. But by the sounds it's a tough rod from that review of it which is great.

Quote Originally Posted by reidy View Post
    I have one as a throw around boat hack and it,s as tough as nails (carbon composite blank) Similar to the old Taipan blank and ive run one of those for 15 years 6'6" two piece 4-6lb bagged every thing from half lb trout up to 8lb aust. salmon on her running hard bodies.I would still be using it today but it,s a tad wippy and short for softies.
    I reakon they were trying to up sell the raider
    Reidy
    nah, he knew if i didnt buy that I wouldnt buy anything. The raiders were out of stock long before I got there.

I think it's just an issue of a slightly higher amount of SS breaking, 1.5% instead of 1.% or something like that.

Just passing on what i've read

By hack i mean a rod that can be used on the boat with out to much tender love and care eg gets bashed against the gunnels,dropped on the deck,trod on,tip wacked on seats ect.Its not the rod its the application (as in hacking around).You will do well with your choice ,they are a tough rod built to last.
    Reidy

Ahhhhh well that's a bit of a relief! Good to hear haha and excellent =D good to hear it's a good rod, lookin forward to putting it to the test this wkend

Had a fantastic fight with a freight train (nice size stingray) last night on mine...