Thread: No 1 Son's first '09 Jack

No 1 Son's first '09 Jack

Hi all, what a great weekend I have just had. As a family we fished in a local comp, did not do so well but was over the moon to get my young fella his first Jack for the year.
    Saturday morning saw us all pile into the boat and head down to the local creek for the day. Not much happening but as the tide came to full the mullet started showing. The young fella said, "I will catch some and we can go for a Jack fish this arvo" Oh OK if I have to

Dropped the girls home in the afternoon, restocked, couple of beers for me and a mountain of food for him, geez, pre-teens can eat and off to the Jack snags.

I was keen for him to get one so i took the helm and put him where he asked me too.
    Without prompting he picked a very likely looking snag and with some good style dropped his livey in close.

It always seems like a bit of a blurr when I get smashed by a Jack but to watch him seemed like it was happening in slow motion, he did it all but the net work and to see the look on his face with the fish on the deck was priceless.

Sorry about the quality of the pic with him holding the fish but we had to take it the next day as the flash on the camera refused to work the evening b4.

Cheer's Pete.

Re: No 1 Son's first '09 Jack

Nice. I am still waiting ot catch my first Jack.

Great report Pete. He's now caught the same amount of jacks as I have!!

A budding barra fisho in the making??

Nice work there Pete, the boy's got a good teacher!

They're dark fish you get down there aren't they???

I love the dark fish.

Jeff.

Thanks Boy's,

Hey Pete, r u thinking of a Father n Son fishing comp/M&G ??? now there is a thought.

Jeff, mate, every one I have got this season has had the really dark shades, they do look brilliant, angry and pretty at the same time.

Cheer's Pete.

Beautiful looking fish, was the water pretty fresh?

Dids

Hey Dids, mate we have had a bit of run off of late and the higher reaches def have some color. I posted a tread last year as to why there is such a variance in the hues of these fish when they are all caught in similar waters, stuffed if I know.
    Cheer's Pete.

good fish there mate congrats to him and whoever told him everything he knows

seems to plenty of big jacks down that way...

Ah thanks Jim, I'll take that as a compliment......................

When ya coming down to smash a few??

Cheer's Pete.

Nice jack, thanks for the pm as well pete

Melony

Brilliant job, they are nice fish too.

Tom