Thread: Hastings Point

Question Hastings Point

G'day All
    Early next Month I heading back home to put the place on the market and want to do a bit of fishing at my old stomping ground.

Is anyone fishing the rocks at Hastings at the moment or lives in the area that could give me some feed back on what it's like at the moment?Is it sanded up at the moment or has the seas down there dug it out around the rocks?I intend to fish out the and to the left when I get home for Jew and tailor early mornings
    thanks
    Aussiefool

Re: Hastings Point

Hi Andrew,
    Not sure about Hastings but i live at Ballina. Tailor have been around the headlands here in good sizes when the seas rough up a bit. Good fun after a southerly blow. I have heard of guys getting Jewies in the same conditions. I would guess they are up at Hastings as well.

Thanks Scott,
    When I lived and fished down there I would get Jews and Tailor all year round

hope this works

anyone else been for a look ?

just had a 2 week hoilday there. I didnt fish the rocks but fished most of the beaches down there and it was very quite.
    but bye the sounds of it i was fishing in all the wrong spots,even did a couple of trips to the tweed and caught over 100 fish that had to be thrown back. But thats why they call it fishing right

Next time your down there try the rocks out the end of the carpark. But fish as light as possible or you will do a lot of gear or use lures

If you want to use a lure fish along the rocks (dashed lines)

G'day Andy,

Haven't been down there lately but for what it's worth, we've had a lot of northerlies and flat seas before xmas. This prob hasn't helped with the sand but we have had a bit of Southeasterly wind since then with a bit of swell last week - this might have helped clear it out a bit.

How long are you down for mate? I finally have the new epirb

Mick.
    Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Quote Originally Posted by Jackinthebox View Post
    G'day Andy,

Haven't been down there lately but for what it's worth, we've had a lot of northerlies and flat seas before xmas. This prob hasn't helped with the sand but we have had a bit of Southeasterly wind since then with a bit of swell last week - this might have helped clear it out a bit.

How long are you down for mate? I finally have the new epirb

Mick.
    Thanks for the info mate.
    We arrive at lunch time on the 9th of feb and and leave at lunch time on the 18 of feb.