Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 2009 4X4 of the Year

2009 4X4 of the Year

I can hear the can of worms opening now.

4X4 magazine just announced the Mitsubishi Pajero Deisel as the 4WD of the year. Pretty shallow competition when the others they put up were 2 suzuki's, 2 Jeeps and a Lexus.

What happened to the Patrols and Cruisers, gues they didn't spend as much on advertising etc with 4X4 Magazine.

They supposedly ran the evaluation over subjects like.

Off road capability
    Safety
    Value for Money
    Build Quality etc.

Seems a little tilted this does???
    Fillet and Release Squad

Re: 2009 4X4 of the Year

I really never take any notice of such articles or reports.

There are so many categories available under the 4 x 4 banner, it would be impossible to say one 4 x 4 is the best.

The best 4 x 4 for anyone wanting to buy one, is the one that suits your needs and budget................simple.

If you want a family weekender, then maybe the Paj is for you, if you want a farm workhorse then the 79 Cruiser ute is the one, you need to tow your 685 cruisey then a F250 might be needed and if you like to look like a suburban terrorist, a Hummer might be best for you !!!!

Bling it up or chip it, there are toooo many options.

Budget, in the end, will win.

phill

BTW. Nissan Navara D22 was voted best allround 4 x 4 for 2008 by.....me !!!

Any of those awards..including Boat of the year, Aust design Awards..just buy them..no need to have a good product.

Announcing the 2009 winner on the 7th day of the year...WOW...aren't there any new models coming out in 2009?

And Pajero....do people actually buy them????

The awards are always announced at the start of the year. Vehciles released this year will be trialed and get their chance for the 2010.

The pajero is a capable vehicle and a worthy winner (in its class).

Not everyone likes Landcruisers.
    You are entitled to my opinion!
    -----------------------------------------

The pajero is a capable vehicle and a worthy winner (in its class).

True, but to be named 4 x 4 of the year, implying it was an overall winner is drawing a very long bow.

100% of people surveyed who had the exact same name as me, voted the Nissan Navara best 4 x 4 ever........

and, to add some fuel, ya 4BY is only as good as the driver

And the can is definitely open!!!
    Fillet and Release Squad

they should give car of the year for cars when they hit 10 years old. then you can bet the house there will be no mitsi or nissan in there

I hope they've fixed the dpf issues.

I heard that pajeros had really poor transfer gear ratios. My favourite fourby is the landy 70 series wagon model. simple and uncomplicated reducing the risks of breakdown in the middle of nowhere. AND, it has a live front axle. if only i had enough money...

Owen

One thing you can guarantee is that if you break down in a cruiser or patrol out west, you won't have to spend a few days waiting for parts, they'll have them on hand and you'll be moving again pretty quickly!!!
    Fillet and Release Squad

They still have warranty in 10 years mate!!!

lets not forget that the hilman hunter and original mini won car of the year, the list goes on and on, it was mitsubishi's turn I guess

And these awards are generally for new models only, not sure when the latest land cruisers, patrols etc were released, but they may not be 'eligible' for the award

What....no Landy's???
    Must be a all a load of bullocks I reckon.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by Clee View Post
    lets not forget that the hilman hunter and original mini won car of the year, the list goes on and on, it was mitsubishi's turn I guess
    So did the Leyland P76.

Enough said........

- Darren