Thread: lake leslie boxing day++

lake leslie boxing day++

g'day, went to warwick over christmas...took the boat

had to have family time on chrissy day but on boxing day we launched in leslie dam...oops sorry lake leslie..

caught a 36cm yellow belly on a 3" watermelon minnow....after like 20 minutes...

to cut a long story short...

bought a permit, traveled about 400k, fished for 3 days, and caught 1 bloody fish..... but it is my PB, first, only gotta love that...

so for now its back to the bay.... but i still have 11 1/2 months of permit left so i'll try again and again...lol

cheers Chris

Re: lake leslie boxing day++

Ah that's fishing Chris, I got up at 3am last Sunday, 280km round trip for one small Bass and a nice sunrise photo.

Still wouldn't swap it for golf.
    Cheer's Pete.

congrats on the yella..as pete said THATS FISHING at least you got one...cheers bdowdy..brett

Thanks guys,

yeah i was happy to catch one, woulda loved a cod also... but yeah - that's fishing ...

we bar-b-qed the fillets and with over 50 ppl at the bro-in-laws for the hollidays probably coulda done with a couple of loaves also...lol
    it did taste good..

will go again when there's less traffic on the water, hopefully the flood gates in the photo will be wet next time also and the ramps as well...

cheers Chris

Quote Originally Posted by Ozie_3 View Post

will go again when there's less traffic on the water, hopefully the flood gates in the photo will be wet next time also and the ramps as well...

cheers Chris
    Mate, I've lived there since '92 which was well before the boat ramps.
    I don't think the ramps have ever been wet.
    If my memory serves me right the most I've seen in there is about 22-25%

The hoons like the top bit of the ramp though but the council learn't in the next stages making the service a bit on the rough and tumble side.
    If you want a bit less traffic on the water then do not go during Easter.
    Amasing to see all the camp fires around the dam during the night. They're just like little pixie lights.

I heard of a 36lb cod been caught but that was about 67th hand by the time it got to me.
    Next time try trolling a lure across the 'don't go past here' buoys towards the wall. I usually pick up a belly through there.
    Thanks for the report too
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good