first oakey ck murray cod !!!

Thread: first oakey ck murray cod !!!

Talking first oakey ck murray cod !!!

hi all,
    here goes! I took a mate of mine and his little brother out to camp at a spot along Oakey ck not far from dalby and near the farm my dad works for.arrived just after lunch and after setting up camp we all head over to the bank armed with some worms and bread. afterabout 1 hour of no touches on theworms or bread the little brothers bread bait rod loads up big time and a 9lb euro carp is on the bank. we proceeded to catch another 5 of these ugly vermon for the afternoon before retiring to the camp for a feed.

the next morn dad takes us into the private farm property and to a hole i've fished since i was 14. we are all flicking lures when my mate fishing a shallow diving mad mullet with a fluro yellow stomach chrome sides and fluro pink tiger stripes over some snags washed up tight against a weir is crunched and a 43cm yellowbelly is on the bank and dispacted to the eski. we move further down to anothe hole and the little brother is flickin a small (bout 4cm) green/black RMG
    lure is just finished a retrieve about to lift the lure out of the water when another 36cm yellowbelly flys up and engulfs his lure! we move again to another hole and 3 cast in the little brother is on again same lure and another 36 yellow is landed. that was it for the morn sesh.except to more stinkin carp on worms quickly dispatched far up the bank

the afternoon sees us meeting up with dad for a fish at the same hole.they've been there for over 2 hours with not even a touch.so i tie on a shallow gold bomber and walk up to the spot my mate got the 43 yellow, 3rd cast and dads wife telling me i wont catch anything there cus its too shallow (bout 1m) my lures in the middle of the creek jig jig pause and the lures is crunched and the fight begins, am absolutely stoked when i see an 11lb aprox murray cod on the bank, lure is quickly removed and the big girl is swiftly releasedwhat a beautiful big fish they are to! camera bat is flat tho so unable to get a photo
    walk about 100m up the creek to another whole i no of, i must have put 30casts at the same spot tight against the otherside bank when i land one about 4 inches from the bank i give i one violent jig to make it dive hard and after that it is crunched by another cod this time only about 6lb but still stoked.and also released. retire to the pub after that for a countery and a few too many ales and tick murray cod of the species list! good sign the ck is in good condition to!
    USB on p.c. is broken so will post up some pic's when i can get to mates p.c.

cheers for reading tight lines JAYVEE
    Last edited by jayvee; 04-01-2009 at 05:02 PM. Reason: lure size mistake

Ausfish Platinum Member geoff72's Avatar

Re: first oakey ck murray cod !!!

nice read mate, cant wait for the pics
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

yea great read, sounds like an awesome trip
    definately looking forward to the pics

yer oakey creek is awesome heaps of fish and ive caught heaps of yellas there but no cod of carp.