Monduran barra

Thread: Monduran barra

Monduran barra

Went up to mondy for a fix for the day ,28/12
    My stats were : fished 8am - 6pm
    :water temp 28c -30c
    :fished between white rocks & above wallily creek
    :dam is turning over , green & cloudy
    :fish seemed more active in morning session
    :landed 1x 95cm barra near white rocks

Hope that helps anyone

Pete Mate

Re: Monduran barra

Nice fish in any1s book mate..casting or trollling?

Hi Pete,
    95cm is a good barra, so well done. The green in the dam is caused by a algae bloom. Maroon dam gets it every year. A lake will normally turn's over in winter as the water temp above the thermal line becomes the same as the water underneath. Generally smaller dams are affected. Just a little trivia.
    Jesper

Quote Originally Posted by chewy01 View Post
    Nice fish in any1s book mate..casting or trollling?

chewy01 , I was casting with 40lbs fins braid & 60lb twisted leathal leader system.

Pete Mate

Great one.i still reckon on average those high 90s fish go harder than any others. Nice fish once again.

Congrats on the 95. We have been here since Saturday arvo and have not managed to raise a silver fish. Have fished into the wee hours of the morning with a decent number of barra heard on the surface but unwilling to take any of the asortment of lures thrown at them. Reports of fish is very very quiet. Water quality is not too bad with the cleaner water found further up although it has not coincided with fish found or even follows. There are alot of people at the dam but as always if you are casting there are plenty of places that you can have to yourself although the main basin is pretty busy for the trollers. The wind is up a bit this morning and the temps have been between 28.5 and 31 on the water.

Took the son in law up for a few hours before he heads back to brisbane,HOT!!! you bet it was.On the water just after 4.30 and even then with a light mist it was warm.Water temp between 29-31,and yes,the water did look dirty,clarity was quite poor.Anyhoo,the only knocks we got were in the timber in B in fact,Michael would have pulled a barras teeth out (if they had any)He was certainly taken by suprise.Saw plenty of fish on the sounder but they weren't interested.Did not come across any in the main basin.Thats fishing I guess,he said he was only mildly disappointed as he'd had a top morning out.I guess a fish would've been the icing.
    Paulo.

How finnical is it the old Mond.... love it

Well done mate on the 95 a great fish!

Nath

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by MORFIN View Post
    Went up to mondy for a fix for the day ,28/12
    My stats were : fished 8am - 6pm
    :water temp 28c -30c
    :fished between white rocks & above wallily creek
    :dam is turning over , green & cloudy
    :fish seemed more active in morning session
    :landed 1x 95cm barra near white rocks

Hope that helps anyone

Pete Mate
    Morfin,

Mate the dam hasnt turned, the murky smell and crappy water is a result of them letting water out for the cane farmers. It happens this time every year. The green is algae bloom, although its not as bad as last year.

Hope this clears things up a little...ha ha pardon the pun

cheers steve

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Morfin,

Mate the dam hasnt turned, the murky smell and crappy water is a result of them letting water out for the cane farmers. It happens this time every year. The green is algae bloom, although its not as bad as last year.

cheers steve

so whats your definition of turning over then ?

Pete Mate

[quote=Steve B;

cheers steve[/quote]

Mate, you are on fire lately, dont let any one tell ya differant

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by MORFIN View Post
    so whats your definition of turning over then ?

Pete Mate

What Bass 54 said.

Water above thermocline cools rapidly (usually in winter) to a point where its as cool as, or cooler than water below therefore the coolest water sinks and warmer water rises...it turns over.

Thats the way I understand it.

When they let water out, it stirs up the dead water in the bottom of the basin. It really stinks.

muddy banks are getting exposed as the water level drops from the water getting let out.

Then theres the boatwash....lots of boat wash are hitting the muddy banks creating dirty water too!

Thats what I am seeing. I am probably wrong. I just dont think its turned over.

cheers Steve

Ausfish Platinum Member DEANO68's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post

What Bass 54 said.

Water above thermocline cools rapidly (usually in winter) to a point where its as cool as, or cooler than water below therefore the coolest water sinks and warmer water rises...it turns over.

Thats the way I understand it.

When they let water out, it stirs up the dead water in the bottom of the basin. It really stinks.

muddy banks are getting exposed as the water level drops from the water getting let out.

Then theres the boatwash....lots of boat wash are hitting the muddy banks creating dirty water too!

Thats what I am seeing. I am probably wrong. I just dont think its turned over.

cheers Steve

so how is the dam looking at the moment steve.??? any encouraging reports.??
    deano..
    God put me on earth to accomplish
    a certain number of things,
    right now i am so far behind
    i will never die.

id doubt it deano,blew me dog off the freakkin chain this morning

Ausfish Platinum Member DEANO68's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by chewy01 View Post
    id doubt it deano,blew me dog off the freakkin chain this morning
    yea same down here, fresh to frightning....
    God put me on earth to accomplish
    a certain number of things,
    right now i am so far behind
    i will never die.